effects tips

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

aussie
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:24 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by aussie » Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:29 pm

hi there

i've just got myself a great orange ad30r. i'm really happy with the sound - its a cracker of an amp. however, i'm just sorting out my pedals to get my sound just right. i play a strat (although i also have a maton ms500 - aussie brilliance!) with a tube screamer, boss digital delay, boss chorus, jim dunlop wah and a volume pedal. i am after another overdrive / distortion and am thinking of getting a new delay (either the boss dd5 or the line 6 delay modeller thingy). i'm also after a decent tremelo effect pedal. any thoughts will be much appreciated.

thanks heaps - rock on.

theschickster
Tiny Terror
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:57 am
Location: USA

Post by theschickster » Fri Jun 14, 2002 9:10 pm

Well for the Trem the Demeter Tremulator is one of if not the best. I have a Maxon AD-900 Analog delay totally AWESOME. Probally the best stomp box analog delay money can buy and boy does it have the price tag to prove it. I dont use digital delay so i cant help with that. Also have a Maxon AD-80 Analog delay GREAT! It also is one of the best out there. I dont think you can go wrong with the Line 6 delay modeler. It has every delay know to man and comes real close to the real thing i hear. Od's theres so many but one the best and most exspensive is the Klon Centaur Overdrive. Banzai Cold Fusion is good to i hear [alittle cheaper]. Fulltone Fulldrive 2 is good also. Well hope that helps some.

Meole
Orange Master
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Meole » Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:54 am

How do you power your effects pedals?
Do you use batteries, a power supply or adapter?

aussie
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:24 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by aussie » Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:55 am

thanks for all that info - very helpful. once i get all this sorted i'll be getting it put together on a pedal board with a power supply.

theschickster
Tiny Terror
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:57 am
Location: USA

Post by theschickster » Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:49 pm

Right now i have a pedalboard with its on power supply. It can power up to 6 9 volt pedals i think. Though the Maxon AD-900 has its own power supply because it's like 13 volt or something. You can also get a Vodoo Labs pedal power 2 or Dunlop juice box if you want to power many pedals without the board power. The Pedal Power 2 even has jacks for Line 6 pedals plus 9 volt and some other options. It's around $240 US dollars though. The pedalboard i have now cost that much and has 9 volt power to boot. Though it cant power Fulltone pedals and a few others it can power most. The Pedal Power 2 can power just about any pedaL out there.

Meole
Orange Master
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Meole » Sat Jun 15, 2002 6:43 pm

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
The Pedal Power 2 even has jacks for Line 6 pedals plus 9 volt and some other options. It's around $240 US dollars though. The pedalboard i have now cost that much and has 9 volt power to boot. Though it cant power Fulltone pedals and a few others it can power most. The Pedal Power 2 can power just about any pedaL out there.
<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

I've been looking for a Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 for a while. From what I hear, they sell faster than can make them.
Most places say they are 6 to 8 weeks backordered. They might even take longer, since I ordered one a while ago myself. Still waiting!
I'm sure more people have ordered them too, causing further backorders. They are very popular.

aussie
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:24 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by aussie » Sat Jun 15, 2002 7:09 pm

hey shickster

is your pedalboard custom made or is it one of them furman jobs?

theschickster
Tiny Terror
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:57 am
Location: USA

Post by theschickster » Sat Jun 15, 2002 8:38 pm

It's not a Furman but i want one. They have ac plugs for wall warts and 9 volt power plus their line conditioner in it. The only bad thing is a soft case. You would have to buy a flight case too. Anyway the one i have now is a SKB. It to has a soft case. A custom made case is a option too. When the new band is all ready to play out. I recenctly quite my old band to start a new one. When your used to playing gigs it can be rather trying. I will need a different board. If i get the custom i'll need a Pedal Power 2 and sounds like there hard to get now. But for now i'm happy with SKB [the bigger one].
This may be of some interest though they are out of stock.
http://www.musicyo.com/product_specs.asp?pf_id=426




Edited by - theschickster on 15 Jun 2002 20:57:53

Meole
Orange Master
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Meole » Thu Jul 11, 2002 3:27 pm

I got my Voodoo Lab's Pedal Power 2 power supply finally.
This is the best power supply there is for effects pedals. Small and light.
No sound of electricity running through my amp now! Adapters suck!
Batteries are great, but always need replacing at the wrong times.
Took a while to come. They sell faster than they make them.
The date of manufacture on my unit is after I ordered it,
this means it was built especially for me. <img src=icon_smile_approve.gif border=0 align=middle>

theschickster
Tiny Terror
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:57 am
Location: USA

Post by theschickster » Fri Jul 12, 2002 1:08 am

Hey Meole Does your PP2 have any ac oulets on it? Like two would be nice. I have a SIB Varidrive i've been using lately and a Maxon AD-900 both need ac oulets. I have a hard time with getting a Furman or cumstom and PP2. It seems the Furman is the best deal but no hard case[bad]. The Furmans go for $275 was the cheapest i found and then the PP2 plus the board probally $350. But i have to have ac plugs. Plus i need a hard case. <img src=icon_smile_question.gif border=0 align=middle>

Meole
Orange Master
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Meole » Fri Jul 12, 2002 3:08 am

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote> Hey Meole Does your PP2 have any ac oulets on it?<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

Yes, the Pedal Power 2 has one AC outlet max. 200 watts.

aussie
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:24 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by aussie » Mon Jul 15, 2002 10:28 pm

hi guys

i have done some thinking and hunting and when payday comes at the end of the month will be getting:

- akai headrush (delay / looper)
- proco rat vintage (i need a high gain pedal to complement my tube screamer)
- colorsound tremelo (maybe) or maybe a voodoo labs microvibe
- MTR DC8-DPR power supply (http://www.mtraudio.com)
- pedalboard / case from www.flightcasewarehouse.co.uk

its not the top end stuff but will help me get the sounds i'm after. i'll send a report to tell you how it all sounds when i get it together. feel free to send me more suggestions.

Anders
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 6:04 pm
Location: USA

Post by Anders » Tue Jul 16, 2002 3:17 am

To heck with effects ... just plug the guitar in and let it rip.

theschickster
Tiny Terror
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:57 am
Location: USA

Post by theschickster » Tue Jul 16, 2002 4:57 am

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
To heck with effects ... just plug the guitar in and let it rip.


<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote><img src=icon_smile_question.gif border=0 align=middle><img src=icon_smile_dissapprove.gif border=0 align=middle><img src=icon_smile_question.gif border=0 align=middle>

aussie
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:24 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by aussie » Sun Jul 21, 2002 11:24 pm

there's nothing wrong with using effects to increase the array of sounds you can use in your music. i agree that the guitar, fingers and amp are the determining factors in getting good tone but little boxes can make a nice little contribution.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests