polytune 2: yes? no?

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Polytune 2?

Yes
5
31%
No
2
13%
Your TU-2 from 1999 is good enough!
9
56%
 
Total votes: 16

BrianFantana
Orange Master
Posts: 2189
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 4:26 am
Location: USA

polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by BrianFantana » Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:33 pm

Vote!

a.hun
Duke of Orange
Posts: 9764
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:05 am
Location: Amsterdam, Hollandland.nl

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by a.hun » Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:16 pm

BrianFantana wrote:Vote!
Would, but still can't seem to register a vote in polls here! :?

Maybe I'm banned but Billy hasn't got around to telling me...

PS would be the 2nd or 3rd options for me.


Andy.
aNDyH. :wink:

Ever tried to outstare a mirror?

In the bathtub of history the truth is harder to hold than the soap, and much more difficult to find!

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7150
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Jondog » Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:32 pm

Just bought a TU-3 in place of my Polytune. I actually think the TU-3 is more accurate/precise.
Image

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:39 pm

I dont like my polytune
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

Thinline_slim
Orange Master
Posts: 2731
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:16 am
Location: Colorado - USA

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Thinline_slim » Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:52 pm

I really like my Polytune. The 6 sting function is pretty handy when in the middle of a song when you know something is off. Also, if you play outdoor shows I found the Poly shows up better than my old TU-2 in the daylight. That's why I got rid of the TU-2 in the first place.


You know who would probably have a good opinion on the subject is a.hun. I haven't seen a post from him in ages! I hope he didn't get banned.
Jake
OrangePaul wrote:Ok gitar lead to you Jake :D
"One of the 400"

Image

http://www.purevolume.com/JakeMcallasterBand/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

OrangePaul
Orange Master
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:21 am
Location: UK

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by OrangePaul » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:42 pm

Thinline_slim wrote:I really like my Polytune. The 6 sting function is pretty handy when in the middle of a song when you know something is off. Also, if you play outdoor shows I found the Poly shows up better than my old TU-2 in the daylight. That's why I got rid of the TU-2 in the first place.


You know who would probably have a good opinion on the subject is a.hun. I haven't seen a post from him in ages! I hope he didn't get banned.
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Paul.

Image

Randy Bass
Lord of Orange
Posts: 10149
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 3:44 am

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Randy Bass » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:27 pm

I didn't see an option for my pitch pipe. :(
_________________
Image

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:45 pm

polytune is bad for me

I plug in guitars and basses in standard tuning and c# tuning

I dont want to reconfigure for each, but regardless of the configuration I hate the algorithm that tells it when to switch from single tuning to polytuning as it always gets confused and that polytune function has been useless to me its always inaccurate on mine :shock:
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

0000
Orange Hero
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:37 pm
Location: LA, CA

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by 0000 » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:45 pm

Tuning is one of the most simple things about guitar. I don't see how strumming all the strings at once makes life any simpler. Plus, I personally play strange open tunings (usually C,F,C,F,A,C), so the thought of having to program that little thing between songs for different tunings seems like a pain.

BOSE tuners works wonders. No reason to change.
Image
-Electrical Guitar Company "Buzzo" Double-Cut, Solid Aluminum, Gold Anodized.
-Gronlund Newcomb Custom aluminum hollow-body guitar.
-Matchless Phoenix 35 w/ Matchless 4x10 Cabinet

OU818
Orange Master
Posts: 2330
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:55 am
Location: Melbourne, AUS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by OU818 » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:51 pm

My TU-2 is probably even older than that :oops:
Orange Gear:
AD200B MkIII
Terror Bass MkII
OBC810

Non-Orange:
Barefaced Super Twin

Basses:
Sandberg Electra VS4
Polaris Manta V Custom

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:27 pm

you just take a pen and tap a switch to "configure", but it only has standard tuning and drop d tuning and bass and guitar. so those are the only configuration choices. useless.

do you knoiw anyone that plays in drop D??? I don't.

whatever setting it is in, it works badly compared to normal tuners.


boss tu3 seems good, but it says:

Chromatic and Guitar/Bass mode (tune by string number, with support for 7-string guitars and 6-string basses)

I just wanna hit a string and it to tell me if I am in tune or not, will it do that? is switching from these two modes easy, and is it easy to tell it if I am using a guitar or bass?
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:37 pm

I think guitar/bass mode is for folks that just want to not know the names of the strings and it just says "first string" or "second string" etc.


I would never use that mode

boss may be in my future after I save for the $100 sting:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37jXn9KU ... ion_686589" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:37 pm

(double post)
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7150
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Jondog » Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:59 pm

The modes on the TU-3 are very easy to navigate. They're screen printed right on the face and you just hit the mode button until the led is above the mode your after. It also has a "bright" function for making the leds brighter when your outside.
Image

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17758
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by bclaire » Wed Jul 16, 2014 4:02 am

I had to get a replacement for my Polytune as batteries wouldn't last through a gig. I'd put a new battery in it - tune up - unplug it and put it away - and then a week later plug it in and it would die after tuning one guitar! They replaced it under warranty (which was a real hassle since it goes to a third party for "evaluation") and so far so good.

They said to me "Most people use a power supply" to which I replied "Then why does it have a battery compartment?"

The multi-tuning is junk. It has NEVER correctly registered any guitar for me. I'll tune individual strings to pitch, strum it, and it says three of them are out. Check it again and they're all dead on in tune. Total overrated junk IMHO.

I'd start using my TU2 again if I could remember what I did with it! :mrgreen:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests