Help in fixing this amp

Maybe someone can help you date your Orange Amplifier?

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
yoshi
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:18 pm

Help in fixing this amp

Post by yoshi » Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:06 pm

My mate has this Orange amp that the transformer has gone in it. WE'd like to identify it so we can put a new transformer in it and get it working again. Please help us rescue this lovely amp. Interestingly hand writen on the inside it says "last one"
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Thanks in advance for the help

Tibor
Orange Hero
Posts: 422
Joined: Sat May 18, 2002 2:17 pm
Location: Germany / Schotterey
Contact:

Post by Tibor » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:53 am

there are several replacement trannys for orange amps... do you need an PowerTranny or the OutputTranny?

Orphin
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6626
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Orphin » Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:34 am

Image
Image
Image
Image

This is a videoclip:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/keithdange ... 398812249/

There you go.

That amp is quite interesting. It's one of those amps you so very seldom see that is built by Orange but with Matamp parts.
The transformers are Partridges. The tubes are old stock General Electrics. They look kind of dusty. You should gently wipe them of with some alcohol without oil (just enough to get a little moist) then wipe them dry, using newspaper.

I cannot see where you live. If you're in UK call Matamp for replacement irons, if you're in US try Electric amps or Mercury Magnetics.
David
I'm speaking out of my a$$. Yours might differ.

yoshi
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:18 pm

Post by yoshi » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:32 am

thanks guys. I'm waiting for my mate to tell me which tranny it is, if he knows, I'll post straight away when he tells me.
Excuse my ignorance but what are "Irons"?

We are in UK Orphin.

Orphin
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6626
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Orphin » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:59 pm

Irons are transformers.
Contact Matamp for replacements.
David
I'm speaking out of my a$$. Yours might differ.

yoshi
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:18 pm

Post by yoshi » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:51 pm

is there a way to work out which tranny it is?
The following is a quote from who's amp it is:
"it was consuming [blowing] 1amp fuses [eventually] at a rate of every time the amp was switched on; which seeing as it's preventing a power up (the LED doesn't come on) could mean it's the powerT, but still maybe it's the outputT causing fuse to blow and so preventing the powerT from illustrating it's working order?"

Orphin
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6626
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Orphin » Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:53 pm

You have to ask him if it's the mains fuse or HT fure that's blowing. I assume the 1 amp fuse is the HT fuse, and if that is the case it's the output transformer that's a goner.
David
I'm speaking out of my a$$. Yours might differ.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest