Can I put 12ax7 instead of 12at7 in the effect loop?

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
VergDan
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:05 am

Can I put 12ax7 instead of 12at7 in the effect loop?

Post by VergDan » Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:18 am

Hi, I've got a Rocker 15 Terror which hums even without a cable plugged in. It's not loud but it does bother me sometimes. It does get louder as I turn the power rating up (for example from 7w to 15w).

Anyway, I've swapped all the 12ax7 tubes and both el84 tubes, the hum is still there. The only thing that's left is the 12at7 which drives the FX loop.

As I don't have any 12at7 at hand, but I do have a bunch of 12ax7 laying around (some of which have lower gain than others), I wonder if it is feasible to put a lower gain 12ax7 in the FX loop instead of a 12at7?

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7192
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Can I put 12ax7 instead of 12at7 in the effect loop?

Post by Jondog » Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:55 am

It will work, but the 12AX7 might not be as clean and clear as the circuit is designed around the 12AT7 and it’s gain structure.
Image

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17839
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Can I put 12ax7 instead of 12at7 in the effect loop?

Post by bclaire » Thu Feb 18, 2021 7:13 pm

If I'm not mistaken a 12AX7 is going to be a higher gain tube than a 12AT7 no matter what....

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests