TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
Hammerheart
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:05 pm

TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Hammerheart » Sun Oct 13, 2019 2:16 am

Clean channel picks up local radio. Dirty channel is fine.

First thoughts? Dodgy Valve? Any valve swaps I can try to pinpoint the issue?

Mr Mustard
Tiny Terror
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 11:52 pm

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Mr Mustard » Sun Oct 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Pre-amp valve shield missing?
Mr. Mustard

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17689
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by bclaire » Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:03 pm

Also, try a different cable. My first thought is though, bad preamp tube.

Hammerheart
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:05 pm

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Hammerheart » Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:33 am

Ive tried cables/guitars/different power points. It does seem to be worse on one side of the house. im gonna try reseating the tubes tomorrow to see if its anything like a loose connection. I read on another forum this may be worth a try.

Hammerheart
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:05 pm

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Hammerheart » Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:35 am

oh. it does it on both channels. its just way more prominent on the clean. I just noticed it sooner on the clean.

northernguitarguy
Tiny Terror
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 9:59 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by northernguitarguy » Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:48 pm

Just curious....was it ever working? Did anything change, i.e. amp location, etc.?

Hammerheart
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:05 pm

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Hammerheart » Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:53 pm

It was moved from UK to Canada. Voltage has been switched. Might just be my location. :/ obviously its just bugging me now as it didn't do it back in the uk.

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6760
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Les Paul Lover » Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:54 pm

Could you try another valve amp in the same location?
Ant

Orange Gear: RV50 MKI, R30, AD15, AD5, PPC212
Past Orange: Orange AD30TC Combo, Tiny Terror

Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded, Vigier Expert Retro 54, Gibson SG 70s Tribute, Aria Pro II RS X80, G&L ASAT Special Tribute

Hammerheart
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:05 pm

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Hammerheart » Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:01 pm

Les Paul Lover wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:54 pm
Could you try another valve amp in the same location?
all my other amps are ok (one is a rocker 15 combo)

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6760
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Les Paul Lover » Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:06 pm

Hammerheart wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:53 pm
It was moved from UK to Canada. Voltage has been switched. Might just be my location. :/ obviously its just bugging me now as it didn't do it back in the uk.
Are sure the transformer rewiring has been done properly?
If all your other amps work correctly, and that one has been modified (I know, it a simple mod in theory), I would look there to start with - well, after trying a new ECC83 in each slot.


All the preamp valves have their shields, right?
Ant

Orange Gear: RV50 MKI, R30, AD15, AD5, PPC212
Past Orange: Orange AD30TC Combo, Tiny Terror

Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded, Vigier Expert Retro 54, Gibson SG 70s Tribute, Aria Pro II RS X80, G&L ASAT Special Tribute

Hammerheart
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:05 pm

Re: TH30 Clean channel picking up local radio.

Post by Hammerheart » Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:15 pm

Les Paul Lover wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:06 pm
Hammerheart wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:53 pm
It was moved from UK to Canada. Voltage has been switched. Might just be my location. :/ obviously its just bugging me now as it didn't do it back in the uk.
1-
Are sure the transformer rewiring has been done properly?

If all your other amps work correctly, and that one has been modified (I know, it a simple mod in theory), I would look there to start with -

2-
well, after trying a new ECC83 in each slot.


3-
All the preamp valves have their shields, right?
1 - I did it. It operates fine apart from the radio issue so I THINK I did it correctly :P
2 - Next step maybe.
3 - yes
4 - a visit to the local tech in order.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests