Switching amps from 120 to 220 volt operation

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
Guitar77
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:20 am

Switching amps from 120 to 220 volt operation

Post by Guitar77 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:49 am

Greetings,

I have Orange TH30 and Dark Terror heads buy through US vendors so they're set up for 120 volt operation.

I now live in Europe and My question is 'aside from sliding the voltage selector switch to 220, what are the recommended fuses to put inline, and is there any other change I need to do for 220-volt operation? Do I need to re-bias the amps?

Thanks in advance!

Sooner
Orange Master
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 6:16 pm
Location: USA-land

Re: Switching amps from 120 to 220 volt operation

Post by Sooner » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:11 pm

You need to change the mains fuse to a T1A (1 amp slow blow). Are you sure there's a switch? I see it referenced in the manual but don't see it on the rear panel diagram.
Sooner
AD1512 Serial No. 001

Sooner
Orange Master
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 6:16 pm
Location: USA-land

Re: Switching amps from 120 to 220 volt operation

Post by Sooner » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:14 pm

Sooner
AD1512 Serial No. 001

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17552
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Switching amps from 120 to 220 volt operation

Post by bclaire » Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:17 pm

Man, it's taken him a long time to change those over, eh?

Guitar77
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:20 am

Re: Switching amps from 120 to 220 volt operation

Post by Guitar77 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:41 pm

So....I completely forgot that I posted this same question a few years back. Stuff got busy and my attention got distracted from changing the operating voltages. Nonetheless, thanks to all for the feedback.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests