Issues with a Thunderverb 50

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

TinMI

Issues with a Thunderverb 50

Post by TinMI » Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:25 pm

Hello! This is my first post on here and I hope I put it in the right section.

I recently acquired a used Thunderverb 50. It's only my second tube amp. I started with a CR120, and moved on to a OR15. I love the sound of the latter so much, and when I found a good deal on the Thunderverb I couldn't resist. I do however have some questions about it. Keep in mind I'm still new to actually owning a tube amp, and haven't had to get the OR15 fixed or anything.

I'm using a Les Paul and an SG with stock, passive pickups into an Orange 2x12 closed back with Celestion 30s. The things I address happen with or without pedals.

I noticed right away that, regardless of the gain settings, instead of notes ringing out and gradually fading, there is a sort of rhythmic pulsing as they fade. Sort of like the white noise you can hear with a chorus or flanger pedal cranked while you're not playing, if that makes any sense. Is that normal on this series? Or this wattage? I have the reverb turned all the way down, and the attenuator makes no difference.

Another issue is that notes seem to be cutting off prematurely. The best comparison I can think of is when a noise gate is turned too high and it just cuts off sustain.

These issues vary whenever I turn it on. Sometimes it's fine, sometimes not. It happens on both channels.

Sorry if this is a simple fix but I didn't know where else to ask. Thanks for reading.

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange

Re: Issues with a Thunderverb 50

Post by Les Paul Lover » Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:44 pm

This isn't normal at all.

The 1st thing would be the change the power valves, but they need to be biased by a tech when you do it.
If it happens on both A & B channels, the power valves are the most likely culprit.