Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
Ade
Orange Hero
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 2:36 am
Location: FNQ, Australia

Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Ade » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:40 am

Why hasn’t Orange employed a tone stack bypass circuit in more of their amp designs?

Lately I’ve really been enjoying my AD15 (after a new set of EL84s). But I can’t help think it would be even better if it had a footswitcable tone stack bypass like my AD50. In the AD50 it gives a great volume boost, great for leads, particularly useful live.

Actually this reminds me of Billy’s last post about the possibility of a twin channel AD15TC. I actually prefer the TSB to a second channel.

Any reason the TSB circuit isn’t employed more often? Could an AD15 be modded to include one?

Ade
Orange AD15/12 - Orange AD50 - 1975 PPC412
Image

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7114
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Jondog » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:46 am

Very easy mod. When I built my AD2, I included a bypass switch. Just need to putbthe tone stacks ground on a switch to lift it.
Image

a.hun
Duke of Orange
Posts: 9761
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:05 am
Location: Amsterdam, Hollandland.nl

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by a.hun » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:19 pm

To answer your ‘why not?’ question though, I just think too few people get the idea of keeping it as simple as possible. I’ve always ‘got’ the (volume control only) ‘Natural’ channel of the Rocker series amps, and often use other amps with just one tone control. But we may be in a minority there! ;)


Andy.
aNDyH. :wink:

Ever tried to outstare a mirror?

In the bathtub of history the truth is harder to hold than the soap, and much more difficult to find!

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6756
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Les Paul Lover » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:23 pm

a.hun wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:19 pm
To answer your ‘why not?’ question though, I just think too few people get the idea of keeping it as simple as possible. I’ve always ‘got’ the (volume control only) ‘Natural’ channel of the Rocker series amps, and often use other amps with just one tone control. But we may be in a minority there! ;)


Andy.

Nice to see you here Andy!

I suppose a switch to bypass the tone stack would out it on an even keel with your R30 then..... ;)

The way the tone stack works on the AD15 (like the tone stack on the R30 dirty channel) you could get a significant boost too when bypassing the EQ depending on where you set it at.

Could be a pretty useful setting.
Ant

Orange Gear: RV50 MKI, R30, AD15, AD5, PPC212
Past Orange: Orange AD30TC Combo, Tiny Terror

Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded, Vigier Expert Retro 54, Gibson SG 70s Tribute, Aria Pro II RS X80, G&L ASAT Special Tribute

Ade
Orange Hero
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 2:36 am
Location: FNQ, Australia

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Ade » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:46 pm

Les Paul Lover wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:23 pm
The way the tone stack works on the AD15 (like the tone stack on the R30 dirty channel) you could get a significant boost too when bypassing the EQ depending on where you set it at.

Could be a pretty useful setting.
That’s what I was wondering and I suppose hoping. The volume jump on the AD50 when bypassing the tone stack is significant and I’d love to have that on the AD15. My only problem with the AD15 stock is the lack of headroom.

I don’t know if I’d have the guts to do it, but it sounds like it would be a fairly simple mod, yeah?

Ade
Orange AD15/12 - Orange AD50 - 1975 PPC412
Image

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6756
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Les Paul Lover » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:41 am

Ade wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:46 pm
Les Paul Lover wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:23 pm
The way the tone stack works on the AD15 (like the tone stack on the R30 dirty channel) you could get a significant boost too when bypassing the EQ depending on where you set it at.

Could be a pretty useful setting.
That’s what I was wondering and I suppose hoping. The volume jump on the AD50 when bypassing the tone stack is significant and I’d love to have that on the AD15. My only problem with the AD15 stock is the lack of headroom.

I don’t know if I’d have the guts to do it, but it sounds like it would be a fairly simple mod, yeah?

Ade
The mod would be fairly simple I believe, the difficulty would be where to fit it.

The AD15 chassis is pretty crammed, not sure there would be any space to fit that in. You might even need to fit that in an additional box outside the main chassis. It probably would make sense too, giving you more options to make the footswitchable Jack accessible.
Ant

Orange Gear: RV50 MKI, R30, AD15, AD5, PPC212
Past Orange: Orange AD30TC Combo, Tiny Terror

Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded, Vigier Expert Retro 54, Gibson SG 70s Tribute, Aria Pro II RS X80, G&L ASAT Special Tribute

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7114
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Jondog » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:18 pm

I fit the switch between the tone knobs.
Image

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6756
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Les Paul Lover » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:13 pm

Jondog wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:18 pm
I fit the switch between the tone knobs.
On your AD2?

Am I right to assume you had more space in that that in an AD15 combo?

Relays need power, right? Thinking about what it would take to make it footswitchable.
Ant

Orange Gear: RV50 MKI, R30, AD15, AD5, PPC212
Past Orange: Orange AD30TC Combo, Tiny Terror

Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded, Vigier Expert Retro 54, Gibson SG 70s Tribute, Aria Pro II RS X80, G&L ASAT Special Tribute

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7114
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Jondog » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:47 pm

I built it in quite a small chassis. No relays needed if you want it footswitchable as it’s all just a ground connection being broke. That can happen at the footswitch and jack using the sleeve and tip as the ground connection. Requires a NC switching jack at the amp.
Image

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6756
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Les Paul Lover » Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:21 am

Jondog wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:47 pm
I built it in quite a small chassis. No relays needed if you want it footswitchable as it’s all just a ground connection being broke. That can happen at the footswitch and jack using the sleeve and tip as the ground connection. Requires a NC switching jack at the amp.


Interesting.

The good thing on the AD15 is that the gain, tone stack and master volume are on a separate PCB. That would make the mod even easier.
Ant

Orange Gear: RV50 MKI, R30, AD15, AD5, PPC212
Past Orange: Orange AD30TC Combo, Tiny Terror

Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded, Vigier Expert Retro 54, Gibson SG 70s Tribute, Aria Pro II RS X80, G&L ASAT Special Tribute

Ade
Orange Hero
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 2:36 am
Location: FNQ, Australia

Re: Tone Stack Bypass in AD15

Post by Ade » Sun Jul 15, 2018 4:08 am

I’m updating my own thread because I just stumbled on this very old thread about the AD15’s master volume where Ade E himself chips in about both the thread topic but also the question of modding an AD15/30 for tone stack bypass.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7459&sid=93ef1345ae ... 1a11de8b8d

Adrian
Orange AD15/12 - Orange AD50 - 1975 PPC412
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest