orange speaker / laptop hybrid setup

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Trixman2

orange speaker / laptop hybrid setup

Post by Trixman2 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:23 am

the following configuration is not traditional. open mind for this configuration. i need the help from the people who know the super technical stuff about wiring speakers to help me create this setup. I am not an expert in that department and don't want to blow my speakers. i own 2 brand new ppc212 cabinets. what i wish to do is rather than use a orange head to power them. id like to use a laptop running amplitube 4 software as a virtual host for amplifiers (running it with speaker modeling disabled only using it for amp and stomp fx models) and use the real ppc212 cabs as the speakers.the guitar will go into 1 of the inputs on the apogee soundcard, the laptop will output the amp modeling and stops out through the apogee duet soundcard with two outputs coming out of the sound card, going into a clean power amplifier designed for PA speakers (If i use an actual amp head be it orange or any other brand. there will be coloration and the point is to avoid coloration so the software can model the tonalities of the amp chosen virtually) i am able to set all of this up. my issue comes at the power amp stage. because the ppc212 speakers are 16 ohm.power amps are typically 4 or 8 ohm. I'm aware of the ability and have read literature on here about rewiring the cabinets to 4ohm. allowing this setup to theoretically work. this is where i have question and my lack of wisdom in wiring and impedance begins. when you wire the ppc 212 to 4 ohm. does its 120 watt capacity change? i am looking at this power amp

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000QCJR6K/re ... B000MYFHZC" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;