Dark Terror humming noise without anything plugged in

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

zombitos

Dark Terror humming noise without anything plugged in

Post by zombitos » Mon Oct 31, 2016 2:00 pm

Hey! First time posting here, I'm new to the whole tube amp troubleshooting thing, first issue i've had.
Anyway, last night i hooked a new pedal to my fx loop chain, a Ditto Looper, i was playing around with it and all of the sudden I got a lot of noise, it didn't went away even if turned off the pedal. So i checked the cables i was using for the fx loop, they were ok, then i tried the amp without anything on the loop (cables disconnected from the back), and there was a faint hum even with volume and gain at 0. I disconnected my guitar (removed cable from the amp input jack) and the hum was still there, i turned up the volume and the gain, the hum noise was not affected by it.
I found out that if i do plug in a guitar and turn the volume up on the guitar, the hum does get louder when the amp volume and gain are increased.
I've been reading about what could be causing the issue, and it seems that it could be a bad tube because is a 60hz hum, i know i'm probably oversimplifying the troubleshooting but I still would like to test the fx loop tube before taking it to a tech.
I don't have any tubes handy, so I was wondering if i could take out the fx loop tube and test the amp without to see if the noise goes away, is that dangerous for the amp? do all the tubes need to be in for the amp to work?
Thanks in advanced for your help!

zombitos

Re: Dark Terror humming noise without anything plugged in

Post by zombitos » Mon Oct 31, 2016 2:54 pm

I just tried the amp in 7w mode, the humming is still there, also noticed a significant gain loss in both 7w and 15w mode, have to turn the gain knob to 2 o'clock to get any crunch from the amp.

Jondog
Duke of Orange

Post by Jondog » Mon Oct 31, 2016 4:02 pm

Probably bad tube(s)

zombitos