My OR120 MV Is squealing like mad.

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Frank_Jeeves

My OR120 MV Is squealing like mad.

Post by Frank_Jeeves » Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:58 pm

I just got my Or120 back from the shop. I had to replace the output transformer. Get a new standby switch and New tubes.

I started playing it at home and the first thing I notice is that it would give me feed back way easier then before it needed to be repaired. When I put just one pedal behind it it started giving me squealing feed back from my Mustang that it never did before I needed to get it repaired. The Output transformer was not the same model and was taken I believe a Th100.

Is this sort of thing normal after getting a new transformer and fresh tubes?

Gladmarr
Orange Master

Re: My OR120 MV Is squealing like mad.

Post by Gladmarr » Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:20 pm

What does the feedback sound like? Does it sound like normal guitar feedback, or does it sound like some really high-frequency ear splitting stuff?

If it's the latter, the tech might've wired your output transformer backwards so your negative feedback line is now giving you positive feedback.

Did you have any tubes replaced?

Frank_Jeeves

Post by Frank_Jeeves » Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:58 pm

Most of it is normal guitar feedback that I normally didn't get before. But with my Fender Mustang it's ear splitting squeals at about 4feet away and it fades away a little further away from the amp. The only fresh tubes are the power tubes

Gladmarr
Orange Master

Post by Gladmarr » Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:59 pm

Okay, then ignore the whole bit about the output transformer being wired backwards. Did the tech tell you why you needed a new output transformer?

If you truly needed one, I suppose the difference in sound should be night and day. Either that or your old power tubes were so beat to death that they had no brightness left to their sound. That might explain the difference.

a.hun
Duke of Orange