Speakers for a PPC212 closed back?

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

baytamusic
Duke of Orange

Re: Speakers for a PPC212 closed back?

Post by baytamusic » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:42 am

I'm with ya. I can't stand V30s. I use 70s g12m, two 75hz and two 55hz in an old 70s Marshall cab. They definitely have less annoying treble than the V30s and I agree that they just sound more "rock".

baytamusic
Duke of Orange

Post by baytamusic » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:55 pm

I use them with a Rocker 30 head. I have no problems with low end response, but I don't tune down or play metal and I also have a quad of them. The g12m are only rated at 25w so a pair won't be sufficient for a 50w amp. Even a pair of 30w G12h probably wouldn't really do it. You could look into Scumbacks as they make higher wattage versions of the M and H Pre-Rola style speakers. I have no experience with the heritage line of Celestions so I can't comment on that. The deal with the older speakers is that they used a different material for the cones so that's why they sound different than the newer ones. Pre-Rola being the most desirable. Personally I would have no issues using the new Chinese Celestions, it's just that I figured $500 for a quad of older Rola Celestions wasn't too steep, so why not just get the vintage ones?! You just need to educate yourself a little about cone codes before buying vintage speakers as you don't want recones. They'll be the same as newer ones if they have been reconed in the last 30 years or so.

Another speaker you may want to look into are the g12-65. I've never used them but tons of people love those speakers. I'm not sure if they would work with an Orange or not.

Randy Bass
Lord of Orange

Post by Randy Bass » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:41 am