4x12 with AD-15

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
jonathan
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 2:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Post by jonathan » Mon May 20, 2002 12:16 am

I have an AD-15 combo (12"). Can I connect both the internal speaker (to the 8 ohm jack) and my Marshall 4x12" (1960TV, 100 watts, 16 ohm, to 16 ohm jack) at the same time?

theschickster
Tiny Terror
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:57 am
Location: USA

Post by theschickster » Mon May 20, 2002 2:59 am

Hey John I dont think thats possible. If the amp has a ext. speaker jack on it. It would only power the 4x12 and not use the 12. Though i dont think that the AD15 could power a 4x12. I had a Vox with the ext. jack and that was the case with it anyway. So i think your out of luck on that deal.



Edited by - theschickster on 20 May 2002 02:59:57

jonathan
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 2:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Post by jonathan » Mon May 20, 2002 12:06 pm

maybe I didn't write clearly:

- the AD-15 has two output jacks: 8 ohm and 16 ohm
- the internal speaker is 8 ohms, my 4x12" is 16 ohm
- the amp CAN drive both the cab and the internal speaker

my question is: is this correct or can it damage the amp?

twang
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 6:55 pm

Post by twang » Mon May 20, 2002 1:49 pm

I've got a similar question about the AD140. There are three speaker outs, one 16 ohm and two 8 ohm. Does this mean if you use two 16 ohm cabs, you plug each one into the 8 ohm outs since you have a total load of 8 ohms?

gearnut
Tiny Terror
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 11:56 am
Location: USA

Post by gearnut » Mon May 20, 2002 3:54 pm

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
maybe I didn't write clearly:

- the AD-15 has two output jacks: 8 ohm and 16 ohm
- the internal speaker is 8 ohms, my 4x12" is 16 ohm
- the amp CAN drive both the cab and the internal speaker

my question is: is this correct or can it damage the amp?


<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

I think that will work. If the internal speaker is connected some other way (not thru one of those external speaker jacks), then you should be able to plug in the 4x12 with no problems.

theschickster
Tiny Terror
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:57 am
Location: USA

Post by theschickster » Tue May 21, 2002 2:10 am

OH! I see John I would guess it would not hurt the amp. I'm not sure though. I would'nt think it would be any different than running two 4x12's out of a OR120 or any head for that matter. This is an assumption though. I can't say for sure.

Meole
Orange Master
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 5:03 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Meole » Wed May 29, 2002 5:15 pm

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
I've got a similar question about the AD140. There are three speaker outs, one 16 ohm and two 8 ohm. Does this mean if you use two 16 ohm cabs, you plug each one into the 8 ohm outs since you have a total load of 8 ohms?
<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

The 16 ohm cab would use the 16 ohm output. An 8 ohm cab would use the 8 ohm output.
I would think to use 2 cabs they would both have to be 8 ohms to mach each output.
How many speakers are in your cabs 2 or 4, and how many ohms each speaker?
They could be rewired to make 8 ohms.

jonathan
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 2:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Post by jonathan » Mon Jun 03, 2002 3:54 pm

Can someone reply who knows the AD15, maybe from tech support? I don't want to ruin my favorite amp...

melj
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 3:00 pm

Post by melj » Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:08 pm

Hey twang, how are ya? I would have thought that as the AD140 is unlikely to ever run with anything other than a 4x12, and the Orange 4x12s are 16 ohms (aren't they?), it would be logical that the two 8 ohm outputs are for running a pair of 16 ohm cabs?

gearnut
Tiny Terror
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 11:56 am
Location: USA

Post by gearnut » Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:58 pm

yeah, emailing orange seems to do no good. I would just call if that's feasible. If you're in the US, they have a US office so it wouldn't be an overseas call.

Jason Green

Post by Jason Green » Tue Jul 02, 2002 4:29 am

Wow! So many questions. Sorry about the delay answering <img src=icon_smile_big.gif border=0 align=middle>

<b>AD15</b>

The AD15 <u>cannot</u> use both speaker outs at once. Yes it will run a 4X12 fine (and sound cool too!) but make sure if it's a 16ohm cab that it is plugged in to the 16 ohm output and that the 8ohm output is not in use.

<b>AD140TC</b>

The following explains how you hook up cabs:

One 16ohm cab - Plug it into the 16ohm out
Two 16ohm cabs - Plug each one into an 8ohm out.

I hope this helps.

Webmaster

jonathan
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 2:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Post by jonathan » Tue Jul 09, 2002 9:01 pm

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
The AD15 <u>cannot</u> use both speaker outs at once. Yes it will run a 4X12 fine (and sound cool too!) but make sure if it's a 16ohm cab that it is plugged in to the 16 ohm output and that the 8ohm output is not in use.
<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

that's what I was looking for - thanks!

rats
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2002 10:57 am

Post by rats » Fri Jul 26, 2002 11:00 am

I assume if you had a 2x12 8ohm cab you could plug that into the 8ohn output and still use in the internal 8 ohm speaker which is plugged into the other 8 ohm output. Could someone confirm ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests