Daisy Chain

Orange Amps Technical Q&A's

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
thankyouforlistening
Tiny Terror
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:13 am
Location: USA

Post by thankyouforlistening » Mon May 12, 2008 10:22 pm

Hey,
I have an orange AD30HTC and 2 8 ohm avatar cabs.
I was wondering if i could hook them together. I'm not sure if i use
a seperate speaker cable and hook each cab seperately to my amp,
or daisy chain them. Is there a difference? and which cable should go where
since my amp head has 2 8 ohm jacks and 1 16 ohm jack. Please help me out.
Thanks a lot!
This drought is leaving me,
With cracked soil and brown leaves.

americaskate@msn.com

Orphin
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6625
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Orphin » Mon May 12, 2008 11:05 pm

You cannot use both 8 ohm cabinets with your Orange amp. Even if you daisy chain them you would still need at least one 4 ohm output.
You can only use one of your cabs.
Use a speaker cable from any of the two 8 ohm outputs into the cab.
David
I'm speaking out of my a$$. Yours might differ.

Simon Wicks
Orange Master
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:19 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Simon Wicks » Mon May 12, 2008 11:07 pm

I would of thought that you plug into the two 8 ohm sockets but it should tell you in the manual how to do it. Hopefully someone with that amp will let you know for sure.

Simon Wicks
Orange Master
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:19 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Simon Wicks » Mon May 12, 2008 11:07 pm

Or not ;)

Ignore my prior advice

Orphin
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6625
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Orphin » Mon May 12, 2008 11:41 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Simon Wicks</i>
<br />I would of thought that you plug into the two 8 ohm sockets but it should tell you in the manual how to do it. Hopefully someone with that amp will let you know for sure.

<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
<br />
I don't understand what you are trying to say with this post.
Both his cabs are 8 ohm cabs. The amp has two 8 ohm taps and one 16.
David
I'm speaking out of my a$$. Yours might differ.

chrismathewsjr
Orange Master
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Seattle, WA - USA

Post by chrismathewsjr » Mon May 12, 2008 11:55 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Orphin</i>
<br /><blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Simon Wicks</i>
<br />I would of thought that you plug into the two 8 ohm sockets but it should tell you in the manual how to do it. Hopefully someone with that amp will let you know for sure.

<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
<br />
I don't understand what you are trying to say with this post.
Both his cabs are 8 ohm cabs. The amp has two 8 ohm taps and one 16.
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

Simon just probably doesn't know that both jacks are parallel off of the 8-ohm tap on the OT, so it's for running two 16-ohm cabs, not two 8-ohm cabs.
'74 Orange OR120 w/Contemporary Avatar 4x12 V30s
'04 Orange AD30 w/Traditional Avatar 2x12 w/G12H30s

http://www.jooniorstudios.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/chrismathewsjr/

thankyouforlistening
Tiny Terror
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:13 am
Location: USA

Post by thankyouforlistening » Tue May 13, 2008 6:30 am

Thanks for the response; you guys are great!
I have a few more questions:
Is there any way to convert an 8 ohm cab to a 16 ohm cab?
And what is the difference between 8 ohm and 16 ohm?
Is there a difference sonically or something?
Thanks again.
This drought is leaving me,
With cracked soil and brown leaves.

americaskate@msn.com

Orphin
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6625
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Orphin » Tue May 13, 2008 10:06 am

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Is there any way to convert an 8 ohm cab to a 16 ohm cab?<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
<br />
Unfortunately not. You have to swap the speakers.

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">And what is the difference between 8 ohm and 16 ohm?<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
<br />
I can't give you the technical explanation for this, but it has to do with resistance.
You have to balance it. The output transformer in the amp want to see that it gets the correct load, unless it's not working properly and might even go :x if you're unlucky.

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Is there a difference sonically or something?<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
<br />
If you mismatch impedance you will notice how the tone changes. You'll lose attack and liveliness. Everything turns to mud IMO.
It's not recommended to do this for your OT's safety, it might get expensive.
David
I'm speaking out of my a$$. Yours might differ.

Simon Wicks
Orange Master
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:19 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Simon Wicks » Tue May 13, 2008 10:03 pm

Its strange to me as Orange have changed the way they hook up cabs to the way everyone else does it. I guess its to save an impedance selector. Normally you have two speaker jacks. Two 8ohms in parallel would give you 4 ohms so you select the 4 ohm tap. Thats how its always been done...

chrismathewsjr
Orange Master
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:13 pm
Location: Seattle, WA - USA

Post by chrismathewsjr » Tue May 13, 2008 10:54 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Simon Wicks</i>
<br />Its strange to me as Orange have changed the way they hook up cabs to the way everyone else does it. I guess its to save an impedance selector. Normally you have two speaker jacks. Two 8ohms in parallel would give you 4 ohms so you select the 4 ohm tap. Thats how its always been done...
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

My guess is it is because they want you to buy Orange 16-ohm cabs.
'74 Orange OR120 w/Contemporary Avatar 4x12 V30s
'04 Orange AD30 w/Traditional Avatar 2x12 w/G12H30s

http://www.jooniorstudios.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/chrismathewsjr/

Orphin
Duke of Orange
Posts: 6625
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Orphin » Wed May 14, 2008 5:43 am

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">I guess its to save an impedance selector<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">
<br />
I like the way Matamp does it. Three outputs, 4, 8 and 16. If you want to use two cabs you daisy chain. No impedance selector needed.
David
I'm speaking out of my a$$. Yours might differ.

Simon Wicks
Orange Master
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:19 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Simon Wicks » Wed May 14, 2008 8:03 pm

I dont own any modern amps so i dont really have to worry. I need to completely rewire my JTM clones OT though if i want to change impedances so i suppose i should complain too much! [:p]

pedro
Orange Expert
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 6:37 pm

Post by pedro » Mon May 19, 2008 8:29 pm

actually, if you have two 8 ohm cabinets, as long as the cabinets are connected IN SERIES, you will have 16 ohms, (if you connect them wrong and in parallel, then you would have 4 ohms) then connect to the jack marked 16 ohms on the amp and you should be good to go,

mr_william
Orange Master
Posts: 2986
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Sheffield, England

Post by mr_william » Tue May 20, 2008 3:03 pm

what pedro says is true, however you'd have to rewire the cabs.. theres info on the celestion site about series/parallel wireing under the "loading your speakers" section..
Will.
Bink wrote:Will you're a genius!! :D
Randy Bass wrote:For the record, mr_william is a genius :D .
Image

Dr Dildo
Tiny Terror
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 5:04 am
Location: USA

Post by Dr Dildo » Tue May 20, 2008 3:38 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by thankyouforlistening</i>
<br />Hey,
I have an orange AD30HTC and 2 8 ohm avatar cabs.
I was wondering if i could hook them together. I'm not sure if i use
a seperate speaker cable and hook each cab seperately to my amp,
or daisy chain them. Is there a difference? and which cable should go where
since my amp head has 2 8 ohm jacks and 1 16 ohm jack. Please help me out.
Thanks a lot!
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

You need to make a special magical mystery cable that allows you to hook the two cabs in series:
Image
Plug one jack into the 16 ohm output on your amp and the other two into your cabs. No big deal really... and no need to re-wire the cabinets.
Slick Willy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest