OR15 - Watford Valves upgrade kits

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

WDeranged

OR15 - Watford Valves upgrade kits

Post by WDeranged » Mon Oct 26, 2020 7:56 pm

I've been using my OR15 for seven years and I think I've got a good feel for what I'd like to change in it's sound. It's way too gain focused and only really comes alive past 12 noon. The clean/crunch sounds feel a bit uninspiring and could do with more sparkle and chime. I also find myself dialling back the mids.

Watford Valves offer two kits and I'm guessing the 'STR BT' kit is the way I should go as it's apparently geared towards a better clean sound. The other 'Retro' kit is is geared more towards overdrive and is described as a 'Mullard' sound.

I'm fairly clueless about the word of valves and I'd really appreciate some opinions on these two kits.

https://www.watfordvalves.com/product_d ... sp?id=5342

https://www.watfordvalves.com/product_d ... sp?id=5396

bclaire
Forum Moderator

Re: OR15 - Watford Valves upgrade kits

Post by bclaire » Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:08 am

The second link mentions more headroom which sounds like what you're after....

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange

Post by Les Paul Lover » Thu Nov 12, 2020 4:47 pm

I bet those EL84 in the retro kit are rebranded Russian NOS 6P14P EV valves.

They are really power valves too. I've had a few harma valves in the past, they are pretty good to be honest, they do a good job with screening and testing them.
Ant

Orange Gear: RV50 MKI, R30, AD15, PPC212
And.... Genz Benz Black Pearl 30
Past Orange: AD30TC Combo, TT, AD5

Guitars: Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded, Vigier Expert Retro 54, Gibson SG 70s Tribute, Aria Pro II RS X80, G&L ASAT Special Tribute

Pepino

Post by Pepino » Mon Jun 14, 2021 7:14 pm

Okay. This might help you. I really like my Orange Rocker 15 so much more with the changes and more to come.

First off, this is how my Orange Rocker 15 is at the moment.

Orange Rocker 15 Combo