OR120...main fuse (5amp) keeps blowing...

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
db
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2002 9:45 am
Location: USA

Post by db » Sat Jun 08, 2002 10:04 am

I have a OR120 guitar amp (approx.1994 / when Gibson owned Orange) that has worked great for several years! While it was in my friends studio, he used it for his bass (when I wasn't there), and after some time of doing this, the fuse blew. Ever since then, any attempt to replace the fuse has resulted in the fuse blowing as soon as the power is turned on. Does anyone know why this may be happening? Or does anyone out there own a OR120 and possibly have an owner's manual and/or schematics for it? I really loved the sound I got out of that amp and now have REAL need for it again as I'm planning to play some guitar in the band I'm currently singing in...BOY, do we need a second guitarist! PLEASE!!!!! If anyone has ANY information about this, I'd really appreciate your feedback!
Thank you! db / dennis brown

geertjacobs
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 10:01 am
Location: Belgium

Post by geertjacobs » Sun Jun 09, 2002 10:41 pm

Check my site for schematics.
I've had good technical help at the Orange forum of http://www.plexipalace.com

G.



http://www.geocities.com/geertjacobs/orange_page.htm

melj
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 3:00 pm

Post by melj » Mon Jun 10, 2002 2:02 pm

Is it the HT fuse? this is generally (afaik) the point of failure when you have bad power tubes. If you have some spares, put em in and try a new fuse, if it doesn't blow, voila! Get 'em biased and away you go.

db
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2002 9:45 am
Location: USA

Post by db » Wed Jun 12, 2002 1:05 am

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
Is it the HT fuse? this is generally (afaik) the point of failure when you have bad power tubes. If you have some spares, put em in and try a new fuse, if it doesn't blow, voila! Get 'em biased and away you go.


<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>Actually, it is the main fuse (5 amp), not the H.T. (1 amp) fuse. Someone from Orange mentioned the possibility of it being the tubes or the main tranformer, with emphasis on the transformer. I don't have any extra tubes in which to try your suggestion as of yet. Either way I go, it's going to run about $100 to get new tubes or a tranformer, unless you may have an idea where I might be able to pick up either at a lower cost...
Regardless, thanks for the response! I appreciate it!
-Dennis-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests