Buying an orange amp

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

dave.anthony.nemes

Buying an orange amp

Post by dave.anthony.nemes » Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:02 pm

Howdy, I am new to orange amps, but yesterday my girl took me to GC, blindfolded me and told me to pick whatever I heard and thought was the absolute best sounding amp. She blindfolded me so I wouldn’t pick based on brand or look, purely on sound.
I played through about five amps before I said “that one. That’s the one”
It was an orange rocker 32 2x10 combo.
I have a lot of questions and I would love to start the journey into the world of orange amps, so I was hoping someone could help me out.
I haven’t tried it yet but some one reccomended the AD30TC.
I was wondering how the AD30TC (combo) stacks up against the rocker 30 combo. I also wanted to know if the AD30TC (combo) can run an external cab while running both of its speakers.
I know Tonally, the AD30 will probably be a bit more expansive, but if the rocker 30 is enough volume wise, I think it might not be worth it to go for the AD30TC.
Please help, I’m torn. I haven’t even tried to the AD30TC, but if it’s a unanimous vote that the AD30TC is worth the money, I’ll get it delivered to GC ASAP.

bclaire
Forum Moderator

Re: Buying an orange amp

Post by bclaire » Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:40 pm

Good news: the AD30TC combo is pretty awesome.
Bad news: they discontinued it - only the head version is still available.

They can run external cabs well - and you can find them used out there. Just plan on retubing a used one so you are starting fresh with it.

bclaire
Forum Moderator

Post by bclaire » Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:42 pm

Oh, and welcome to the forum!

Ronnie Robinson
Orange Master

Post by Ronnie Robinson » Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:36 pm

Ive got the head version ad30htc it is a great amp....but my main question is if the rocker 32 was 'the one' why not just buy that?