I have a TH30 crisis - advice needed!

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

mici88
Tiny Terror

I have a TH30 crisis - advice needed!

Post by mici88 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:23 am

So,

I've been playing my TH30 head for two years, mostly 80/90s hard rock, grunge and metal. In general, I like this amp - especially its cleans and crunch on 1st channel, power scaling and reasonable size and weight.

But.

Recently, I feel like I'm tired of its dirty channel. Seems to be limiting because of single-shape knob and specific gain, the only reasonable tone is

30W mode
volume at 10:30
shape at 10:00
gain at 1:00

If I increase volume or gain - things get too fizzy. If I lower them - then it misses bite and attack. Putting TS in front causes feedback and hum. What is even worse, dirty channel does not respond to volume knob as nice as clean does.

So, what is the remedy for me?

1) try to mess more with settings?
2) get a decent hi-gain pedal for clean channel?
3? sell it and get Rocker, Rockerverb or OR50?

Please, give your point of view.

Jondog
Duke of Orange

Re: I have a TH30 crisis - advice neeeded!

Post by Jondog » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:43 am

What you describe is what I don’t like about the amp. Nice clean channel, limited gain channel. It works for some people but the shape just does’nt do enough when your trying to dial in somethng specific. I don’t know what amp you’ll like more, all taste really. A Rockerverb is definitely a step up and thats where I went and was happy until I eventually settled on a Rocker 30 simply because I wanted simplicity and I really felt connected with it’s voice and character, you won’t get the same cleans from a Rocker, very different. Test out some amps, see if theres something that works better for you or even worth changing. Eq pedal might be enough.

thing62

Re: I have a TH30 crisis - advice needed!

Post by thing62 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:15 am

OK... I totally get it.