New Orange Pedal Day! Getaway Driver

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

DiabloS
Orange Master

New Orange Pedal Day! Getaway Driver

Post by DiabloS » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:59 pm

Just got the Getaway Driver pedal today and I was grinning as soon as I started playing through it. Wow, it sounds great!!! It's maybe the first pedal that I've played that claims to sound like a cranked tube amp and actually does. It's fat, punchy, responsive and has a really sweet high end in its attack. I think that's where the magic lies to make it feel like a real cranked amp.

The range of gain is really nice too, even with the gain knob cranked it still comes through clear and is just a phenomenal classic rock sound. Perfect for ZZ top type riffing. Although it's not really a typical metal sound, palm mute chugging is possible with the gain cranked and sounds good for a more Mastodon-esque stoner rock/metal sound. It's really versatile!

The headphones output is ok, good enough to practice with or maybe record scratch tracks. I probably wouldn't record anything serious with it, but it would do in a pinch. My only other minor complaint is the sweep of the volume knob, if you want unity volume to use your clean channel with the pedal disengaged, the volume knob needs to be at around 8'oclock. But that's not a huge deal.

Orange got it right with this pedal, highly recommended!!!

DOWNLOAD THE DIABLO STRANGE EP FOR FREE HERE -> http://diablostrange.bandcamp.com

Currently own:
Dual Terror
Micro Terror
PPC212OB

Used to own:
Thunderverb 50
Rocker 30
Tiny Terror

langmurf
Rocker

Re: New Orange Pedal Day! Getaway Driver

Post by langmurf » Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:45 am

Congrats!
Orange Rocker 15 Combo, Orange Two Stroke
2007 Gibson Melody Maker; Cort Steinberger

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange

Post by Les Paul Lover » Fri Oct 06, 2017 8:15 am

I'll have to try one of those one day.

What do you play it with?
Do you still have your DT? Does it stack nicely with the amps own dirt?