Newbie has questions on OR15 amp

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

grritz

Newbie has questions on OR15 amp

Post by grritz » Sat May 14, 2016 3:20 am

I'm a babe-in-the-woods newbie about Orange amps. Heard and OR15 for the first time today and it blew me away! Guy at the guitar store recommended it highly and I'm interested in buying one soon. But...I have questions:
1. Is there a way I can set up the amp so I can use headphones with it and not wake the wife early in the morning (when I often do my best playing)?
2. What's the best cabinet/speaker to use with this amp? I'm thinking the PPC112 but I'm open to suggestions.
3. With my present amp (Fender Mustang III), I can plug an MP3 player into it and it plays through the amp. I don't think I can do that with the OR15. There's gotta be another way for me to listen to a song (through an iPod?) while playing through the OR15. Any suggestions?
4. Anything I haven't thought of asking about the OR15? As I stated, I'm really new to this.

On more question: The place I'm looking to buy from sells the OR15H. Is there any difference between the OR15 and the OR15H?

Please give me whatever advice you can. I really want to know more about this amp and its capabilities.

And...thank you!

Grritz

FleshOnGear
Rocker

Re: Newbie has questions on OR15 amp

Post by FleshOnGear » Sat May 14, 2016 12:36 pm

The OR15 is a great amp, but it's not really designed for quiet home practice like the Mustang is. Ideally you'll need a dummy load and a mixer to do what you want, probably about $450 worth of extra equipment.

So, you plug an attenuator (like the THD Hotplate) between the OR15 speaker out and the speaker cab. The Hotplate will take the power output of the amp all the way down to zero, and it has a line out that can be plugged into a mixer. Then all you need is a cheap little Behringer mixer to mix that with your iPod and send it to your headphones.