Thunderverb vs. Dual Dark

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Eddywtf

Post by Eddywtf » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:44 pm

DUAL DARK 100 vs THUNDERVERB 200

Hello guys,

This is my first post after spending a lot of time on the forums as a guest. I am about to buy my first stack and have aspired to own an Orange since I started playing guitar, around 10 years ago.

I’ve come into some money and decided now would be the time to invest. I’ve started a new band from the ground up. We play primarily Mastodon / High on Fire / The Sword / Black Tusk style material. I will be playing both Lead and Rhythm. Pounding riffs, fuzzy open chords, at times vintage sounding with balls, while being a sound that requires clarity in the leads…

I have researched both amps for a long time and have searched endlessly for a place where I can try them out, no luck with either (Londoner, living in Holland). Many e-tailers list the item here but don’t actually have it in stock. Independent stores also do not carry so I’m out of luck there.

I realize I’m asking a very subjective question but would like to hear from anyone that has had the privilege of trying both.

If it’s of any interest, my main guitars are a Les Paul with Bareknuckle Black Dog pickups and a Custom Stratocaster with a single Seymour Duncan Invader.

Any advice / Insight would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Eddy

misterfolkertsma
Orange Expert

Re: Thunderverb vs. Dual Dark

Post by misterfolkertsma » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:49 pm

Can't help you out with the subject of your post, but nevertheless: Welkom op 't forum! :wink:

Eddywtf

Post by Eddywtf » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:50 pm

Hey buddy, dank je wel! :P

EDIT: ... Or dankjewel?

Hubaxe
Orange Expert

Post by Hubaxe » Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:02 pm

Welcome there!
If I would have to replace my current amp, the Dual Dark and the TV200 would also be the contenders :wink:

Eddywtf

Post by Eddywtf » Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:03 pm

Thank you very much.