Is this just another marketing Gimmick!!!

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

arya.sridhar
Tiny Terror

Is this just another marketing Gimmick!!!

Post by arya.sridhar » Wed Dec 10, 2014 8:47 am

Saw this Advertisement on Mercury Magnetic' website about power cables called "Copper Tone" for guitar amplifiers.

Everything seems fine like the thickness of the copper inside the cable and all that. What struck me is one sentence they mentioned in this advertisement.

The statement is "Thin actually make your amp sound thin"

Here's a screenshot of that sentence and the link below of the MM page with the product info.

Mercury Magnetics

I think blind tests with this cord and a regular cord would be hilarious..

Coming from MM is weird. Nice marketing gimmick!!!

Hubaxe
Orange Expert

Re: Is this just another marketing Gimmick!!!

Post by Hubaxe » Wed Dec 10, 2014 9:21 am

I'm not an electrical expert, but my understanding is electricity is a bit like water. The thinnest part of a network give the current limitation.
These cord would involve that the lead before the wall plug is bigger, and the MM cord allow full current to travel into the amp?

I know we have on this forum people with true technical knowledge. Always happy to learn from them :wink:

a.hun
Duke of Orange

Post by a.hun » Wed Dec 10, 2014 9:34 am

It is all about capacitance. That increases with the length of a cable but also is higher with thinner cables. (More specifically, it increases with closer spacing of the conductors.)

Definitely at least some truth in it.
http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showth ... p?t=255137" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Lot of differences between different cables. Doesn't mean the expensive ones will always work better for your own sound though! :shock:

Andy.
aNDyH. :wink:

Ever tried to outstare a mirror?

In the bathtub of history the truth is harder to hold than the soap, and much more difficult to find!

Hubaxe
Orange Expert