What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Post Reply
BrianFantana
Orange Master
Posts: 2189
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 4:26 am
Location: USA

What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by BrianFantana » Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:22 am

It looks like it has "50" and "60" but I have no clue what this will do.

Can anyone clue me in?
Should I flip it?!? :lol:

Thanks!

a.hun
Duke of Orange
Posts: 9764
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:05 am
Location: Amsterdam, Hollandland.nl

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by a.hun » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:00 am

Sounds like the mains voltage selector switch. Do not flip it!!!

The 50 / 60 Hz thing: Apart from different voltages (around 115 / 230V) US and European mains supplies have different AC (alternating current) frequencies, 50Hz in Europe, 60Hz in the US. The amp can run on either frequency but MUST be set to the correct voltage!

http://www.worldstandards.eu/electricit ... y-country/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


Andy.
aNDyH. :wink:

Ever tried to outstare a mirror?

In the bathtub of history the truth is harder to hold than the soap, and much more difficult to find!

Bensnake
Orange Master
Posts: 2260
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:36 am
Location: Sweden

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by Bensnake » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:11 am

Seems strange that they use a switch toggle (I assume you mean it's a toggle) for that... I've never seen one on any amp. Show us a pic! :shock:
Image
RV100 MKIII | '75 OR120 | OR100 | OR50 | CS50 | R30H | TT
2 x PPC412
Bax B. | Amp D.

Marshall 1959 HW + 1936V
Fender '65 Super Reverb Reissue
Vox AC30C2X + V212C

Playing Les Pauls and Teles...

a.hun
Duke of Orange
Posts: 9764
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:05 am
Location: Amsterdam, Hollandland.nl

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by a.hun » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:24 am

Probably just the normal recessed slider switch, for 100V / 120V in the US. (Set to 120!)


Andy.
aNDyH. :wink:

Ever tried to outstare a mirror?

In the bathtub of history the truth is harder to hold than the soap, and much more difficult to find!

BrianFantana
Orange Master
Posts: 2189
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 4:26 am
Location: USA

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by BrianFantana » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:51 am

Thanks, gents!!!

(I wasn't going to switch it over w/o knowing.)

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7149
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by Jondog » Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:13 pm

They need to stop making those accessible.....
Image

Thinline_slim
Orange Master
Posts: 2731
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:16 am
Location: Colorado - USA

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by Thinline_slim » Tue Sep 30, 2014 2:45 pm

Jondog wrote:They need to stop making those accessible.....
Can you even simply switch if you're traveling overseas and want to use it? I think there's a lot more to it than that isn't there?


You know what would be handy... external bias sockets and trim pot for those amps that need biasing.
Jake
OrangePaul wrote:Ok gitar lead to you Jake :D
"One of the 400"

Image

http://www.purevolume.com/JakeMcallasterBand/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Bensnake
Orange Master
Posts: 2260
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:36 am
Location: Sweden

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by Bensnake » Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:02 pm

Thinline_slim wrote:You know what would be handy... external bias sockets and trim pot for those amps that need biasing.
+100

I owned a Rogue (canadian brand) hifi-amp with 4 Tung Sol KT-120's. It had a bias meter and trim pots on the top plate. A dream to handle though my current hifi-amp has auto bias and that's even better... 8)
Image
RV100 MKIII | '75 OR120 | OR100 | OR50 | CS50 | R30H | TT
2 x PPC412
Bax B. | Amp D.

Marshall 1959 HW + 1936V
Fender '65 Super Reverb Reissue
Vox AC30C2X + V212C

Playing Les Pauls and Teles...

fiveightandten
Orange Master
Posts: 3845
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: What will the "VAC" switch on the back of my AD30 do?

Post by fiveightandten » Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:54 pm

Yes, it's a red slider, and it switches between 100V and 120V (for models shipped here to the states).

I bought my AD30 used. I ran it for quite some time without ever messing with it. I never needed to, as it worked flawlessly and sounded great. One day, I was in the chassis with a flashlight installing Velcro ties for the power cable. I had unplugged the speaker cable and looked up and noticed that little switch. I also noticed it was set to 100V!

Actually. It gets worse than that...the amp was also modded with 250 ohm cathode resistors. Presumably, someone had it on the wrong voltage setting, and since the EL84s were running super hot, they changed the cathode resistors out to calm things down.

God knows how long it was running like this. It was putting 460V on the plates. IIRC. Heaters were seeing close to 7VAC. The amp sounded great. Dare I say I liked the sound a little better then when I brought it back to stock. :lol: But the EL84s were running at like 18W each, IIRC. It's curious they lasted so long like that. They never red plated or protested in any way.

Anyways, long story short, keep the switch in the proper position.

-Nick
Image
'71 GRO100 || '96 OR-80 || AD30 || '64 AC-50 || AC-30TBX || Hiwatt DR504 || HI-TONE HT30
LP Standard || LP Studio || LP Custom Lite || Ric 620 || Ric 360 || MIA Tele || SG 61 RI

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests