Pedals/pedal board...seeking advise.

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

husker tim

Pedals/pedal board...seeking advise.

Post by husker tim » Sun Aug 10, 2014 6:29 pm

Okay, let me start this by saying: I am by no means a pro player. I am in a band and just play bars and clubs for fun.

I have a Dual Terror with a PPC 212 OB cabinet which I am very happy with. But I have a couple of questions and I am seeking some advise on effects, pedals and pedal board.

So I am something of a novice when it comes to my knowledge of pedals and effects. What I have now is a Boss ME-50 multi-effects unit. I also have a classic Cry Baby wah, a Boss TU-2 tuner (I know the ME-50 has an on-board tuner but I don't like it as well). I also have a Boss OS-2 overdrive/distortion, a Boss MT-2 and a Big Muff Pi fuzz.

I know a lot of people don't like multi-effects units but it is so convenient when giging to just have the unit set up in advance for each song and go to that patch rather than clicking effects off and on all night. I usually use the expression pedal as a volume pedal for most songs.

So here is what I was considering...I was thinking of keeping my ME-50 and adding a series of individual effects (maybe incorporating the individual effects I have now with some new ones) giving me the freedom to flip back-and-forth between my ME-50 and the individual effects. I could use something like a Morley AB switch to switch back and forth.

I guess eventually I would like to switch to using only true bypass individual effects but maybe this would be a way to ease my way into it.

Thoughts? (be nice...remember, as I said above, I am something of a novice when it comes to effects)
....uhhhhh, white is not orange[URL=http://s1281.photobucket.com/user/ ... .jpg[/img]/url]

snickerpuss
Orange Hero

Re: Pedals/pedal board...seeking advise.

Post by snickerpuss » Sun Aug 10, 2014 7:09 pm

What styles do you play? Influences? How big do you think your pedalboard needs to be?