polytune 2: yes? no?

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Polytune 2?

Yes
5
31%
No
2
13%
Your TU-2 from 1999 is good enough!
9
56%
 
Total votes: 16

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:52 pm

Im suprised mine is the way it is

it is first generation

so many people review them highly

I just want to tune single strings like everyone else...
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17758
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by bclaire » Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:04 pm

Ironically, I really like the Polytune app on my iPhone - while the polytuning doesn't work, it works great for single strings. I think it actually works better than the pedal but it's not for using in a pedalboard!

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7150
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Jondog » Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:03 pm

bclaire wrote:Ironically, I really like the Polytune app on my iPhone - while the polytuning doesn't work, it works great for single strings. I think it actually works better than the pedal but it's not for using in a pedalboard!
I found that too. The app kind of influenced me to gat a polytune.
Image

enricoromanielo
Rocker
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 4:54 am
Location: Sao Paulo

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by enricoromanielo » Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:19 pm

I actually like my mini Polytune a lot. Works great for me and takes virtually no space in the board...
Image

Marshall Vintage Modern 2266c
Rocker 30
Reeves Custom 10HG
Orange PPC212 OB
Gibson Les Paul Traditional
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Fender Telecaster JA90
A few pedals

Thinline_slim
Orange Master
Posts: 2731
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:16 am
Location: Colorado - USA

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Thinline_slim » Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:09 pm

It is kind of funny how a piece of guitar gear that makes absolutely NO SOUND can be so polarizing. :lol:

That's probably more due to "it either works or it doesn't" though.
Jake
OrangePaul wrote:Ok gitar lead to you Jake :D
"One of the 400"

Image

http://www.purevolume.com/JakeMcallasterBand/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:27 pm

prolly since first generation polytunes are not as good as second gen due to the various upgrades... not sure but I will be avoiding second gen...
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

Alabama man
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 12:55 am

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Alabama man » Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:07 am

I have the Polytune 2 and it's been working great for me so far. JMHO.

I do have a Peterson Strobe Stomp for intonating though. If I've intonated my guitars, most tuners do the job for me and my purposes.

fedepepo
Tiny Terror
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:06 pm
Location: Genoa, Italy

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by fedepepo » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:15 am

I've polytune mini, and I think it's one of the best tuners on the market.
Amps:
Orange Dual Terror w 2x12 Celestion V30 loaded cab
Marshall JCM800 2210 Head w Marshall 4x10 80's vintage cab
Guitars:
Fender Strat American Special
Fender Telecaster American Special
Fender Strato Mex '94 HSS JB

kmb8488
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:03 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by kmb8488 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:46 am

I have a first-gen Polytune that is incredibly frustrating to use (and I've only run it off of a power supply). There are times where I have to pull and reinsert the input cable because the tuner won't activate. Last gig, the tuner wouldn't activate with a cable. Rather, it just made engine clicking noises when the switch was pressed down. Hello, Pitchblack.

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17758
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by bclaire » Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:59 am

kmb8488 wrote:I have a first-gen Polytune that is incredibly frustrating to use (and I've only run it off of a power supply). There are times where I have to pull and reinsert the input cable because the tuner won't activate. Last gig, the tuner wouldn't activate with a cable. Rather, it just made engine clicking noises when the switch was pressed down. Hello, Pitchblack.
Mine was unhappy with a right angle plug. I don't know why but I had similar experiences...

kmb8488
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:03 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by kmb8488 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:43 pm

I just figured the bulk of my Polytune's issues were due to the fact that I bought it just days after it was originally released (early 2010, I think; maybe earlier). Not sure if the Polytune 2 and Mini are any good, but I don't think they could be any more problematic than the Polytune lemon currently in my possession.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests