polytune 2: yes? no?

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Polytune 2?

Yes
5
31%
No
2
13%
Your TU-2 from 1999 is good enough!
9
56%
 
Total votes: 16

everdrone
Orange Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:02 am
Location: Fort Worth, TEXAS

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by everdrone » Wed Jul 16, 2014 4:37 am

the polytune function IS junk for sure

I wish there was some way to turn it off, it is always wrong and keeps getting in the way


I bet the gibson robot tuner is even more worthless but I have not tried it
My solo downtuned HEAVY rock project: https://soundcloud.com/earthalliance

Guitarist and Bassist in Fort Worth, TEXAS
__________________

Hubaxe
Orange Expert
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Hubaxe » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:07 am

I answered no to the polytune, because I prefer the Hardwire HT6 that have a display in the same layout than the guitar (stupid simple but way more readable tahn the TC one).

If your poll is about POLYPHONIC TUNER, then I would answer YES. In live situation, you can quickly check and tune only the string you need to.
Image

jockeapa
Tiny Terror
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:59 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by jockeapa » Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:29 am

I like em both (TU-2 and Polytune Mini), but prefer the Korg Pitchblack over both.
No buffer in the Pitchblack tho.
Jocke

Rocker 30C
TT
PPC 112
VOX AC30HW2X
'65 Fender DRRI Limited Edition
-79 Gibson Les Paul Deluxe
-82 Ibanez Blazer BL550RB
-86 Squier Strat
-94 Fender P-Bass
-05 Gibson SG '61 RI
-14 Fender Classic Player Baja '60s Tele

Ade
Orange Hero
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 2:36 am
Location: FNQ, Australia

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Ade » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:13 am

I replaced my Boss TU-2 with a Peterson Strobe Stomp2 a few years ago. I really like the Peterson but the TU-2 is still a perfectly good tuner. My bass player now uses it.

I could never understand the point of that Polytune's polyphonic "strumming all the strings" tuning function. I would personally never tune that way. Always seemed like a marketing gimmick to me.

Ade
Orange AD15/12 - Orange AD50 - 1975 PPC412
Image

Hubaxe
Orange Expert
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Hubaxe » Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:11 am

Ade wrote:..
I could never understand the point of that Polytune's polyphonic "strumming all the strings" tuning function. I would personally never tune that way. Always seemed like a marketing gimmick to me.

Ade
To check your tuning between 2 songs in an instant. It spot the string you need to retune, and you still retune the string one by one this like with a normal tuner, it's just way faster to see which one need a retune.

I really like it live.
Image

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17758
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by bclaire » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:32 pm

Hubaxe wrote:
Ade wrote:..
I could never understand the point of that Polytune's polyphonic "strumming all the strings" tuning function. I would personally never tune that way. Always seemed like a marketing gimmick to me.

Ade
To check your tuning between 2 songs in an instant. It spot the string you need to retune, and you still retune the string one by one this like with a normal tuner, it's just way faster to see which one need a retune.

I really like it live.
Except it doesn't identify strings out of tune. Mine will say for example that the low E and A are sharp and then when I check them individually, they're perfectly in tune! Waste of time!

Hubaxe
Orange Expert
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Hubaxe » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:39 pm

Looks like mine's ok. Got this Hardwire HT6 because I found a cheap one (was also sceptical, and didn't want to spend a lot to try this), and reviews on the web tend to say it's better than the TC.
I used it last week end in a wild gig, and it did what it was supposed to accurately.
I checked the note by note along with the trusty Pitchblack, and the HT6 was ok.
Image

Jondog
Duke of Orange
Posts: 7150
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:16 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Jondog » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:48 pm

bclaire wrote:
Hubaxe wrote:
Ade wrote:..
I could never understand the point of that Polytune's polyphonic "strumming all the strings" tuning function. I would personally never tune that way. Always seemed like a marketing gimmick to me.

Ade
To check your tuning between 2 songs in an instant. It spot the string you need to retune, and you still retune the string one by one this like with a normal tuner, it's just way faster to see which one need a retune.

I really like it live.
Except it doesn't identify strings out of tune. Mine will say for example that the low E and A are sharp and then when I check them individually, they're perfectly in tune! Waste of time!
I was about to make this same comment.
Image

a.hun
Duke of Orange
Posts: 9764
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:05 am
Location: Amsterdam, Hollandland.nl

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by a.hun » Wed Jul 16, 2014 2:46 pm

everdrone wrote:I bet the gibson robot tuner is even more worthless but I have not tried it
It probably is, but I heard you do get a free guitar with it. :lol:
Ade wrote:I replaced my Boss TU-2 with a Peterson Strobe Stomp2 a few years ago. I really like the Peterson but the TU-2 is still a perfectly good tuner. My bass player now uses it.

I could never understand the point of that Polytune's polyphonic "strumming all the strings" tuning function. I would personally never tune that way. Always seemed like a marketing gimmick to me.

Ade
Yeah always seemed like a gimmick to me too.

I've used various tuners over the years, including an A440Hz tuning fork which never lies and makes a great sound when you put it close to a pickup!

Did get the StroboStomp 2 as well and liked it a lot - both accurate but also very stable in use which I find important too. However... it packed in on me - the display now cuts out after just a couple of seconds. Could probably have it fixed, (may still), but decided just to get a TU-3 as Boss stuff lasts. Very satisfied with it. Used it for several months before even discovering the 'streaming' function which I like a lot and use all the time now. With that it now even reminds me a little of the Peterson too! :lol:


Andy.
aNDyH. :wink:

Ever tried to outstare a mirror?

In the bathtub of history the truth is harder to hold than the soap, and much more difficult to find!

Moon
Tiny Terror
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:35 am
Location: South Wales, UK

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Moon » Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:13 pm

I bought a TU2 approx 8 years ago and tune to Eb for a little extra low end. Its done its job brilliantly and not failed on me once...despite having my size 9 squash it on a regular basis. I will agree that it does fail somewhat in bright sunlight but as usual Boss have come up with a winner.

If i did decide to replace it or needed to i'd go straight for the TU3.
If it's TOO loud...you're TOO old!!!

OR15, TH30, PPC212 OB (x2) CR35LDX
- - - - - - - - - - -
Gibson Les Paul Std (2008 & 2013), Fender Telecaster (Highway One & MIM), Epiphone Sheraton
- - - - - - - - - - -
EHX, Boss, MXR and Mooer Effects

Boy_Narf
Orange Master
Posts: 2442
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 6:27 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Boy_Narf » Thu Jul 17, 2014 2:11 am

Turbo Tuner!
TT | TTC | R30 | R30C | PPC212V

PedalTrain2 | Zuma

GLXD16 | Decimate | FlashBackMini | ST1 | TimeLine | BlueSky | RangIII | DMC3XL | EX-50

www.scratchbuffalo.com
www.soundcloud.com/modestnews

Foef
Orange Master
Posts: 1073
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:01 pm
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Foef » Thu Jul 17, 2014 1:07 pm

I'm using a Korg Pitchblack because i want it first in my signalchain on the board and it has to be true bypass for the fuzz... Otherwise i'd still be using the Boss TU2 i guess. Both are great tuners anyway. No need for a polyphonic tuner.
Squier 15 (1988)
Mesa/Boogie F50 (2005)
Orange CR60C (2014)

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Factory/438445022903833
http://www.facebook.com/ODcoverband

bclaire
Forum Moderator
Posts: 17758
Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 9:19 pm
Location: Outside Boston MA, USA
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by bclaire » Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:36 pm

Moon wrote:I bought a TU2 approx 8 years ago and tune to Eb for a little extra low end. Its done its job brilliantly and not failed on me once...despite having my size 9 squash it on a regular basis. I will agree that it does fail somewhat in bright sunlight but as usual Boss have come up with a winner.

If i did decide to replace it or needed to i'd go straight for the TU3.
The problem with the TU2 is when it goes into that marquee flashing light mode. And it's always by accident - I'm the only one out of three of my friends that can figure out how to get it out of that mode.... that's the only fault I found with it...

Moon
Tiny Terror
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:35 am
Location: South Wales, UK

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Moon » Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:54 pm

bclaire wrote:
Moon wrote:I bought a TU2 approx 8 years ago and tune to Eb for a little extra low end. Its done its job brilliantly and not failed on me once...despite having my size 9 squash it on a regular basis. I will agree that it does fail somewhat in bright sunlight but as usual Boss have come up with a winner.

If i did decide to replace it or needed to i'd go straight for the TU3.
The problem with the TU2 is when it goes into that marquee flashing light mode. And it's always by accident - I'm the only one out of three of my friends that can figure out how to get it out of that mode.... that's the only fault I found with it...

Nice to know I'm not the only afflicted with mates who can't work their gear! :lol:
If it's TOO loud...you're TOO old!!!

OR15, TH30, PPC212 OB (x2) CR35LDX
- - - - - - - - - - -
Gibson Les Paul Std (2008 & 2013), Fender Telecaster (Highway One & MIM), Epiphone Sheraton
- - - - - - - - - - -
EHX, Boss, MXR and Mooer Effects

Hubaxe
Orange Expert
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: polytune 2: yes? no?

Post by Hubaxe » Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:20 am

bclaire wrote: Nice to know I'm not the only afflicted with mates who can't work their gear! :lol:
I've played several years with a guy that was not able to change his guitar strings, and when he plugged a cable it was always in the wrong place..
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests