Moving from Peavey to Orange rig

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

DrSlackBladder
Tiny Terror

Post by DrSlackBladder » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:47 pm

Hi. I'm UK based and new to this forum. I joined because over recent weeks I've read a huge amount of threads on here and recognise the huge amount of Orange experience and knowledge. I've been playing rock/metal for almost 30 years, and only in recent years had the pleasure of playing through some Orange amps. And I love the tone. I just quit a hard rock/metal covers band, where I used my Engl or most recently my Peavey 6505 212 combo. I decided to take a break from playing for a while, got a Tiny Terror and Orange 112 for home practice after loving the classic valve tone in my local store. The break from band playing didn't last long; I've got myself involved with a four piece classic rock covers band and hope to get out gigging soon. But I have a real dilemma. I love the Orange tone, but the Tiny Terror and 112 at full pelt only just gets me to acceptable rhythm volumes (loud drummer!); with no headroom for big overdriven leads, even with a TS9 boost. I'm the only guitarist, so the lead needs a good volume boost to compensate for no rhythm guitar behind lead breaks. So for rehearsals I resorted back to my 6505 212, but it's a modern metal voiced amp, which used to be great for metal but now for classic rock is a little aggressive. My options are stick with the 6505 but change speakers from the Sheffield stock units, looking for something more mellow (but I still to use moderate gain, pinch harmonics, etc, I use active pickup Schecter guitars). Or stick with the TT and get another 112. Or a 212. Or upgrade to the Dual Terror and an Orange 212 cab (or two?). I've read so many conflicting stories about whether the DT will give me more volume I need than the TT (I've read all the maths about 3db barely perceptible increase). Same for 112 closed versus 212 open cabs. My goal is to have a portable Orange rig wh