Fuzz Fuzz Fuzz

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Orangesoda
Orange Hero

Fuzz Fuzz Fuzz

Post by Orangesoda » Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:02 pm

So I got me a Fulltone Ultimate Octave and WOW it sounds great when my amp is EQ'd with the mids boosted and a decent amount of treble as well. A very different sound. But I think part of it is the pedal itself. It has a very saturated tone that doesn't get too muffled. Kinda like a high-gain/fuzz sound that it has.

So I'm thinking of maybe replacing one of my distortion pedals with another fuzz pedal. I like the saturation this one has. I had an EQD Monarch and what I disliked about it was that it had a dry-no harmonics-unsaturated sound. Sounded like a very thick OD with the drive backed off significantly.

Any recommendations?! I'm no expert of fuzz. If it's a double pedal or a fuzz with something else added that would be a plus. I have one pedal that is dist + OD and the other is dist + boost. Kinda like having extra options.

Jondog
Duke of Orange

Re: Fuzz Fuzz Fuzz

Post by Jondog » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:45 pm

I've had lots of Fuzz pedals, boutique and mainstream. Alot of them are just clones of the classics with an added feature. Right now I'm really digging my new Nano Big Muff. Classic Big Muff, great tone, sustain. I have the Pedal Power 2 that lets you dim the voltage and I knock a couple volts off and it sounds awesome. You'll have to check out the Red Witch Fuzz god ll, great Fuzz Face based circuit that gets huge. Had the Pharoh for a bit, great pedal but I think it only sounds good in a certain area. No need for all the tweakability, a bit overhyped in my opinion. I'm digging the Fnord Fuzz right now too, a bit different sounding.

apocalypsedude
Rocker

Post by apocalypsedude » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:50 pm