Boost pedal advice for my new Orange CR-120

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

OrangeSchecter

Boost pedal advice for my new Orange CR-120

Post by OrangeSchecter » Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:34 pm

Hello everyone, I'm finally a proud owner of an Orange amp and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. (CR-120 Head)

Upon receiving my package yesterday and jamming I noticed that the dirty channel was not as bright as I remembered it when demoing it. I love the sound I'm getting from it but I think a boost or treble boost might help with those mids. Since I am a complete noob with the Orange line of amps I'm hoping I can get a couple of recommendations for a good boost pedal to help brighten the sound a bit.

I know the CR-120 has yet to be thoroughly reviewed and most Orange owners here are owners of tube amps but any boost pedal that you know of that would compliment the Orange line in general would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! \m/

Jondog
Duke of Orange

Re: Boost pedal advice for my new Orange CR-120

Post by Jondog » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:36 pm

Are you usingbthe same cab/guitar you demo'd it on? Are you running any pedals?

bclaire
Forum Moderator

Post by bclaire » Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:07 am

I think you'll find that the amp is too new for any of us to have some real practical advice. I suspect that it might take pedals differently than the tube/ valve amps but until I get a chance to fool around with one, I'll hold off on my advice.

Although the Seymour Duncan pedal is pretty cool....

http://www.seymourduncan.com/products/s ... twin_tube/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

OrangeSchecter

Post by OrangeSchecter » Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:00 am

I realized I didn't mention that in my original post. I am using the same guitar but a different cab. I haven't used my pedal board with this amp yet.

Jondog
Duke of Orange

Post by Jondog » Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:21 am