shipping amps!

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

myboss57
Orange Master

shipping amps!

Post by myboss57 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:37 am

So, looks like I might be shipping my amp to a fella from CL (gotta figure out how to make sure we're both comfy with the paying/receiving portion, any recommendations on how that could work would be great!). I know to take out and wrap up the power tubes, and to pack the amp with plenty of padding, etc. But should I also removed the preamp tubes and wrap those up too? Seems like it would be silly and unnecessary, but I have no experience shipping an amp.

Any suggestions?
Gibson SG Standard
http://www.nightmovesmd.bandcamp.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Sovtek Mig 100h
TC Alter Ego
Mesa Oversized 412
Prev amps: 90s OD120, Tiny Terror, Rockerverb 100mk1

OU818
Orange Master

Re: shipping amps!

Post by OU818 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:47 am

I always remove all tubes and wrap them in foam and bubble wrap separately. I then pack the amp using foam corner protectors and then wrap the entire thing in bubble wrap and pack the edges of the box with air filled bags.

Overkill? Maybe.

But I have never had an amp damaged due to shipping.

Foam corners:
Orange Gear:
AD200B MkIII
OBC810

Non-Orange:
Bergantino NXT212
Bergantino Forte D
Woogie Lessie
Laney DBV-410

Basses:
Ernie Ball Stingray 4H
Rickenbacker 4003
Gibson Midtown Signature
Gibson Thunderbird
Gibson Nikki Sixx Thunderbird
Gibson Les Paul Bass

msmith4432
Orange Master

Post by msmith4432 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 4:28 am

There is no way to feel great about it on CL. He has to send money to you in Paypal and you ship it out. There is no other way I know to do it. I have sold some expensive guitars that way and it worked out just fine.
Mesa boogie Stiletto ace
OR 50 40th anniversary
Orange CS50
Orange 2x12 ppc
Mesa Boogie wide body 1x12
Gibson Les Paul custom black beauty(maple Fretboard)
Gibson Les Paul custom 58 vos
Gibson les Paul custom 57 vos