Metal...with an orange?

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

My_Last_Sunrise

Metal...with an orange?

Post by My_Last_Sunrise » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:48 pm

Hey guys im pretty new to the world of orange and this is my first post in the forum. expect to see me post a few more topics in the next little while

anyways i jsut got a rockerverb 50 like a month ago and i love it. however i recently starting jamming with a metalcore type band and im looking to get a crunchier metal type tone out of it. something liek a marshal jcm 2000. i wasnt originally planning on being in a metal band and i still intend on using this amp for my other band so i want to keep the orange

ive kind of noticed that its not that versatile (feel free to disagree) in that you get that awesome orange tone but its really hard to get anything else. pedals and what not have a limited effect on the overall tone. i have a boss metal zone pedal and when i used it it just sounds like a less clear version of the dirty channel.

any recommendations on how i can make my orange rockerverb 50 sound more like a metal guitar head???

fitterhappier

Re: Metal...with an orange?

Post by fitterhappier » Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:28 am

Have you tried an OD pedal in front of it, like a Tubescreamer? I have a TH30, and putting an OD in front of it (a Green Rhino in my case) makes a big difference.

My pedal chain includes 2 noise gates, in addition to an OD pedal and a compressor. You may try a comp as well - it'll squash your dynamics a bit, but it will even out the tone and give you a more narrowly-focused sound. Coupled with an OD pedal, it might get you there.

But honestly, try an OD first. Check the video below - fast forward to when Misha starts playing. It shows the tone straight thru and with a Tubescreamer. HUGE difference dude.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dHybVI-GOZI" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Les Paul Lover
Duke of Orange

Post by Les Paul Lover » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:40 pm