Strings Recommendation

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Alex Sheeny
Rocker

Strings Recommendation

Post by Alex Sheeny » Tue May 01, 2012 2:43 pm

Well, I've been playing with these Gibson pure nickel for about 4 months, those are great sounding strings IMO but they're not lasting a single week. I live a square from a beach, I imagine that this could sacrifice the life of any metal, but I've never had to change strings so often like that. My second guitar strings are Elixir, they're great, lasting more than 6 months but they just don't have IT. I think the coating takes some of the metal tone of the strings so that could be an option but i wouldn't feel it 100%. My question here is if anyone here could recommend any set of strings that by personal experience lasts longer (not necessarily that long, but one that just could live more than a week or so?!?) and have a good tone?

Thnks!

a.hun
Duke of Orange

Re: Strings Recommendation

Post by a.hun » Tue May 01, 2012 3:10 pm

You'll probably get the usual favourites of D'Addario and Ernie Ball mentioned, along with others.

Also worth thinking about using a string cleaner such as Fast Fret to prolong string life...

Andy.
aNDyH. :wink:

Ever tried to outstare a mirror?

In the bathtub of history the truth is harder to hold than the soap, and much more difficult to find!

Thinline_slim
Orange Master

Post by Thinline_slim » Tue May 01, 2012 3:19 pm

Being that close to the beach you would probably be the best off with the coated strings like Elixer. Take a look at what you bought from Elixer because I'm pretty sure they have different types of coatings too. You might try a different offering from Elixer. Also, D'Addario makes a coated string but I have never played them. I do use D'Addarios on half of my guitars though so I would probably grab a set of those first.

My personal preferences are GHS Nickel Rockers and D'Addario Nickel sets but I doubt you would get much more life than the Gibsons.
Jake