Arctic Monkeys Tone

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

cranio_1

Arctic Monkeys Tone

Post by cranio_1 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:52 pm

Hi, I started playing guitar at about a year and a half ago inspired by the Arctic Monkeys. I was blown away by their music and started to learn how to play their songs. Then i went researching their tone and as everybody knows now, their ealry setup is quite simple. So i got the American Standard Strat, a Pro Co Rat 2 and a EH Memory Boy. As for the amp i didnt research much at the time, but i liked the Tiny Terror Combo, and went for it. After all this time playing and tweaking my gear i cant get the early arctic monkeys tone, i guess mainly because of the TT, i guess it has too much mid range gain. So my questions are:

1 - Is there anything i can do (to my gear/amp) to get that tone?
2 - Does anyone get a similar tone with the Tiny Terror? If so, what are the dials setup?
3 - Should i give up on the TT and try getting a Vox AC15 C1? (in my latest research i discovered it has a more Arctic Monkeys tone, on the modern amps)
4 - Changing the tube setup of TT would help me get that tone?

Thanks to all who reply, i hope i started here a nice topic for discussion :)

chimpboyjay1
Orange Expert

Re: Arctic Monkeys Tone

Post by chimpboyjay1 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:14 pm

In the early days Alex was using orange ad30's so you might be able to get fairly close! Just trying backing off the gain and pushing the volume a bit more, that should help!
Jamie T

Le Chat Noir
Duke of Orange

Post by Le Chat Noir » Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:43 pm

You should have no problems getting close to that general guitar sound from their first record with the TT with not too much fiddling, it has a similar basic tone to the AD30 and should get you in the right ballpark very easily - if you aren't pleased with the TT I doubt a Vox will do you any better. His tone is very recognisably an AD30 on that first record, I'm not familiar with their newer stuff.