guitar teaching/ finding students

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

llldavid
Rocker

guitar teaching/ finding students

Post by llldavid » Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:33 am

Hello orange community

So i decided i was gonna start giving guitar lessons. ive been playing for about 9 years and i used to teach some kids so i figure i have enough know how to teach guitar.

Ive been putting up flyers around my local schools and have seen atleast 15 numbers pulled off of my flyers but i haven't gotten one call.

Do any of you guys have tips on how to find students!
i own a orange ad140 and a 412 fender super sonic cab
...and a lot of other junk

Randy Bass
Lord of Orange

Re: guitar teaching/ finding students

Post by Randy Bass » Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:10 am

You could start poaching at Guitar Center :D .

llldavid
Rocker

Post by llldavid » Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:21 am

im considering putting flyers there the only problem is the closest one is pretty far but i guess its worth a shot
i own a orange ad140 and a 412 fender super sonic cab
...and a lot of other junk

Ddjembe Mutombo
Orange Master

Post by Ddjembe Mutombo » Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:27 am

If you are serious about making this a full-time job, I'd recommend trying to get a position at a musical instruction school (you know... the places stacked with vocal, guitar, piano and drum teacher). Most kids are signed up by their parents, and most parents are more comfortable with going though a company that hires instructors instead of dropping their kids off at a practice space or house.
Monty

baytamusic
Duke of Orange

Post by baytamusic » Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:24 am

I'd suggest driving around in a white van with no windows with a large bag of candy preferably near elementary and middle schools. I'd wear sunglasses and a hoodie too. After you lure the kids into your van you can give them a flyer and drop them off around the corner from their house.

Wendigo
Orange Master

Post by Wendigo » Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:01 am