TT Combo vs TT Head and PPC112

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

David Verb
Rocker

TT Combo vs TT Head and PPC112

Post by David Verb » Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:44 am

I posted here some time ago, looking for opinions comparing the AD30 and the TT as an alternative amplifier to my RV100. I am studying music at University, rehearsing in a few casual bands and may need a smaller amp from time to time, for small performances and rehearsals.

I settled for looking into the TT. Because of its small footprint, price and portability.

I had the opportunity to plug in a Maton BB1200JH ( :twisted: ) into a TT combo at my nearest music retailer, and I was super impressed with the little beast's clarity and volume.

But I wanted to hear opinions comparing the combo against the head;

Does the 10 inch speaker do it justice? How does it sound with a band?

I am also considering bi-amping into my main cabinet. Just for a bit of guitar "wankery"!
Amp
Orange Rockerverb 100

Cabinet
PPC 412 HP 8

Jondog
Duke of Orange

Re: TT Combo vs TT Head and PPC112

Post by Jondog » Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:51 am

If I were going to get a TT Combo, I'd opt for the 12" version. Combo is the way to go if you're looking for an ultra portable all in one set-up and you're happy with the way it sounds. Personally I think you have more options with the head though. With the included gig bag it would be easy enough to carry it over your shoulder and a small 1x12 or 2x10 cab in hand.

Randy Bass
Lord of Orange

Post by Randy Bass » Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:56 pm

I started with the TT head + PPC112 and later ended up getting the combo (with the G12H-30). They are not radically different, but I like the combo better. It sounds better at lower volumes to me and is obviously less directional. The TT head can't be beat for portability/flexibility though and the Vintage 30 does sound good with the TT once you crank it up a bit. If you've already got speaker cabs covered, the head should do nicely.