New here and - Another PPC112 or PPC212 for TT Advice Please

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

GaryM

New here and - Another PPC112 or PPC212 for TT Advice Please

Post by GaryM » Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:51 pm

Hi all and what an honour it is to be accepted into this forum.

Just a little history :- I've been playing for around 2 years now and still loving it so the Missus finally let me go and buy my TT and PPC112 cab to go with it. How happy am I?

My first amp was a Line 6 75 Spider III but this ended up on ebay after 3 months of buying it for obvious reasons that I won't go into here. After I'd learned a very harsh lesson there, I went out and bought a 90's Peavey 212 Special. 200watt Transtube. Not a valve in sight but wow... What an amp. I still have my peavey because I love it and it's a proper power house for large venues. But now I have my First Orange amp and I am so pleased with it. The sounds I get from this thing are amazing and sometimes I'd be playing for a couple of hours or so when suddenly the amp would sound very harmonious if you get my meaning. It's like it's warmed to its peak and now it's singing. I've never had that from and amp before but I think I understand what all the fuss is about now.

Anyway.... I've babbled on enough I think.

I currently have a 1X12 PPC112 and I now have an opportunity to get another one. This got me thinking though because I thought if I sold mine then with the extra cash I could probably afford the PPC212.

Any advise on this would be greatly appreciated because I really don't have a clue. If you had the choice what would you prefer or would there not be much in it. What, if anything, can I expect to gain from this. If I had two 16ohm Cabs would I plug each one into one of the 8 ohm’s on the TT.

Thanks in advance

Regards

Gary

Bink
Orange Master

Post by Bink » Mon Jul 20, 2009 1:03 pm

Hi Gary, welcome to the forum!