Perfect Pitch

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Lee_home
Rocker

Perfect Pitch

Post by Lee_home » Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:47 pm

Is this really so important? i know i'm not a pro in part because i'm not a full time musician... and i know that i have so much to learn... i've heard some stuff about this and i know that this is important... or well relevant....
but so many people said to me that this is the REAL stuff to know....... is it?

blacklight_uk
Orange Master

Post by blacklight_uk » Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:58 pm

I have perfect pitch and it definitely speeds things up a little bit in the studio. It's something you should look into definitely if you want to be a full time session musician but I wouldn't say it's ESSENTIAL. As long as you know what you're doing and have a good musical ear and a decent understanding of the theory and your instrument that should be enough.

What's far more important is your attitude and your networking skills. Being good at your instrument is only half the work. The other half is being a businessman.

That's the advice that was passed on to me by a pro I've known for a few years. He played piano on Ultravox's Vienna among other things. Awesome guy :)
Josh

basshole
Orange Expert

Post by basshole » Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:04 pm

I'd like to think that "Perfect feel" is more important than perfect pitch.
I.e it's more important to find and feel the core of the song/part you're going to play. Chords, notes and key is only one question away.
Andreas

McCartney - Lynne - Langdon - Sting - Miller - Jenkins - Hendrix

Orphin
Duke of Orange

Re: Perfect Pitch

Post by Orphin » Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:31 pm

Lee_home wrote:Is this really so important? i know i'm not a pro in part because i'm not a full time musician... and i know that i have so much to learn... i've heard some stuff about this and i know that this is important... or well relevant....