Worth it?

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

jonnyfromfar

Post by jonnyfromfar » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:24 am

Hey all,

First off my name is Jonny im a blues guitarist. I live in Toronto Canada. I play in the style of T-Bone Walker and Freddie King.

I have the following guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Black Beauty 1991
Fender Telecaster/ Modern bridge. Blond
Fender Stratocaster 1970 (all original, banana yellow)
Custom built Fender Stratocaster Ash Body

Martin D-28 1964 all original
Martin D-16 RGT (2 years old already, beautiful guitar)

Amps:
Fender Twin 57 re-issue (one of my all time favorite amps)
Fender Super Reverb Silverface 1971 All original
Fender Blues deluxe from the early 90's
Fender Vibro King (by far my favorite amplifier)

Ampeg SVT-4 Pro head +
Ampeg 6 x 10 1200 watt cab

Anyway,
I was here to ask the following question,
Is the Orange AD30H head a worthwhile investment?
I was going to trade my Silverface Super Reverb for it.
is it worth it?
from what I've seen in pictures of it, it seems to be quite a simple head. What do you think?

Thanks,
Jonny

Stainboy
Orange Hero

Post by Stainboy » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:56 am

The AD30 doesn't have built-in reverb. But it looks like you have plenty of Fender amps, not to mention an Aladdin's cave o' gear. I say go for it. You need an Orange in the collection. The AD is a great amp.
"What I call a dream involves Diana Dors and a bottle of chip oil!"

Swipe Card HERE

linoleum
Orange Hero

Post by linoleum » Fri Feb 20, 2009 10:29 am

I Think The General Concensus From The Orange Board...Is No! It Is Not A Worthwhile Investmetn!LOL

Queequeg
Orange Hero

Post by Queequeg » Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:19 am

It's like walking into the Vatican and shouting "who here believes in God?"

GO FOR IT!!!
Gibson SG Standard Silverburst
Gibson SG Special Natural
Fender Jaguar HH Special Baritone
Yamaha AES 420 Baritone
Ibanez EDR 470
Ibanez Talman
Orange 2007 RV50H
Orange 1972 4 x 12"

damienwatt_au
Orange Master