Best way to run ALOT of pedals?

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

guitarmy50
Orange Expert

Post by guitarmy50 » Sun Dec 21, 2008 7:37 am

In one of my bands I run quite a few pedals (usually around 15, no less than 12) and there is definitely a loss of high end at the end of the chain. I have zero knowledge about effects loops and the like, and this is probably the first time I've really tried to pay attention to signal degradation. I try to keep my cables as short as possible and I run a clean boost at the end to juice the signal back up a bit. Is that moving in the right direction? Would an amp with an effects loop clear this problem up? I can't afford to run less pedals for this, but I need a very pristine clear clean still. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Neiloler
Lord of Orange

Post by Neiloler » Sun Dec 21, 2008 7:55 am

I'd make sure the first pedal you have in your chain is NOT a true bypass pedal, but has a really nice buffer (as in, when the pedal is off, it's still buffering/boosting the signal). That will help out with a lot of issues down the line. Boosting the end of the signal chain won't replace the lost stuff from the front of the chain.

BobbyBert
Rocker

Post by BobbyBert » Sun Dec 21, 2008 7:56 am

Neiloler
Lord of Orange

Post by Neiloler » Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:06 am

I wouldn't even say you need to go that far, those those look like really cool ideas. You can build a buffer that fits in a small box and has an on/off switch for less than $30.

billynightingale
Orange Master

Post by billynightingale » Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:15 am