How to get gigs!

Orange Amps General Forum

Moderator: bclaire

Aslan
Orange Master

Post by Aslan » Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:08 am

1) Show up on time and be ready to play when your suppose to.

2) Look and act professional.

3) Have back up systems, so if an amp dies or the guitar breaks a string you can keep going.

4) No drugs or alcohol before or during the gig.

5) Even if the crowd is small give a good performance, word of mouth is the best advertisment a band can get.

6) Play for the crowd, the doctors christmas party is a different gig than the crowd at the local pub.

7) Learn a couple of songs from different decades to pull out if needed.

8) If possible use your own PA system and keep the instruments levels balanced with the vocals. Nothing is more frustrating than watching a band and unable to hear or understand the vocals. Also, I've had some bad experiences with "soundmen" who think they know everything and the mix sounds terrible to the crowd.

Once people hire you and have a good experience the gigs will begin to roll in, just be sure to have cards to hand out at gigs with a phone number so people will understand how to get a hold of you.

Gear:
Retro 50 & PPC212
RV50H & PPC212
65Amps Royal Albert
65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS David Grissom
PRS Prism
PRS Santana MD
PRS 305
PRS Hollowbody II single cut
PRS Sunburst 22

blacklight_uk
Orange Master

Post by blacklight_uk » Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:12 am

Good advice man :D

What about -

9) Enjoy yourself and look as if you're doing so!
Josh

blackcloud45
Orange Master

Post by blackcloud45 » Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:15 am

These are all good. I'd like to add:

Bring a baseball bat and some matches in case they don't want to pay up.

http://hypersoulrocks.com/index.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

http://www.myspace.com/lovea45" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Aslan
Orange Master

Post by Aslan » Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:20 am